Playlist 31.08.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 31.08.2020

On this week's programme:

Sofyann Ben Youssef, in his Ammar 808 incarnation, is working with voices from Chennai, India.

47Soul are the Palestinian-Jordanian originators of the electro hiphop “shamstep”.

The upcoming Rough Guide to Urban Mali features a cast of 20-somethings in contemporary style.

Afel Bocoum first came to notice playing in the band of the late Ali Farka Touré.

Black Fire Records were at the centre of black political consciousness and spirituality in 1970s America.

Idris Ackamoor, saxophonist and band-leader, plays jazz with links to the cosmos.

Krononaut, led by Leo Abrahams and Martin France, play an exploratory improvised style.

Emma-Jean Thackray is a British trumpeter, singer and composer of note.

La Banda Morisca, from Cadiz, add the sound of the Maghreb to their Andalucian styles.

José Rizo’s Mongorama honours the memory of Cuban conguero, Mongo Santamaria.

The John Santos Sextet are the San Francisco Bay premier Latin outfit.

Mateus Aleluia is veteran Afro-Brazilian artist incorporating elements of chamber music

Ayom are a Barcelona band with members from Angola, Brazil, Greece and Italy.

The Kronos Quartet, with guest singers, pay tribute to the work of Pete Seeger.

Matthieu Saglio is a French cellist based in Valencia, Spain.

Eyuser are West Papuans whose original cassette album gets a re-release.

BJ Cole is a senior English pedal steel maestro with a star-studded career.

The Aloha Radio Hawaii band recreate the classic Hawaiian sound in its pop heyday.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday August 31st. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Ammar 808 feat. Susha: “Marivere Gati.

2.    Ammar 808 feat. K.L. Sreeram: “Mahaganapatim”. Both from “Global Control / Invisible Invasion” (forthcoming on Glitterbeat).

3.    47Soul: “Lil Disco”. From “Semitics” (Cooking Vinyl 2020).

4.    Abasko Touré: “Anka Mita Be Bon Gana”. From “The Rough Guide to Urban Mali” (forthcoming on World Music Network).

5.    Afel Bocoum: “Bombolo Liilo”. From “Linde” (World Circuit 2020).

6.    Byard Lancestar: “Drummers From Ibadan”. From “Soul Love Now: The Black Fire Records Story 1975-1993” (Strut 2020).

7.    Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids: “Tango Of Love”. From “Shaman” (Strut 2020).

8.    Krononaut: “Mob Kindu”. From “Krononaut” (tak:til / Glitterbeat 2020).

9.    Emma-Jean Thackray: “Um”. From “Um Yang” (Night Dreamer 2020).

10.  La Banda Morisca: “Oh joven gacela”. From “Gitana Mora” (Algazara 2020).

11.  José Rizo’s Mongorama: “Descarga Ramon Banda”. From “Mariposas Cantan” (Saungu Records 2020).

12.  The John Santos Sextet: “Lo Tuyo No Va”. From “The Art Of The Descarga” (Smithsonian Folkways 2020).

13.  Mateus Aleluia feat. Lenna Bahule: “Gangagila”. From “Olorum” (Brasil Calling 2020).

14.  Ayom: “Ayom Manifesto”. Single from “Ayom” (forthcoming on Amplifica).

15.  Kronos Quartet & Friends: “Which side are you on?”. From “Long Time Passing: Kronos Quartet & Friends celebrate Pete Seeger” (forthcoming on Smithsonian Folkways).

16.  Matthieu Saglio with Steve Shehan & Abdoulaye N’Diaye: “Metit”. From “El Camino de los Vientos” (ACT Music 2020).

17.  Eyuser: “Gari Mamiri”. From “Didedikasikan” (Wantok 2020).

18.  BJ Cole with Dave Eastoe: “Tipsy Doodle”. From “Daydream Smile” (BJ Cole 2020).

19.  Radio Hawaii Band: “Sweet Lei Mokihana”. From “Aloha: Radio Hawaii” (Rhymoi Music 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.  Oumou Sangaré: “Acoustic” (No Format!).


2.  Meridian Brothers: “Cumbia Siglo XXI” (Bongo Joe).


3.  Bamba Wassoulou Groove: “Dankélé” (Lusafrica).


4.  Various Artists: “Walter Ferguson - 100 Years of Calypso” (DyM-Online).


5.  Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids: “Shaman” (Strut).


6.  Etuk Ubong: “Africa Today” (Night Dreamer).


7.  Various Artists: “Soul Love Now: The Black Fire Records Story 1975-1993” (Strut).


8.  Matthieu Saglio: “El Camino De Los Vientos” (ACT Music).

9.  Mulatu Astatke & The Black Jesus Experience: “To Know Without Knowing” (Agogo).

10. La Banda Morisca: “Gitana Mora” (Algazara).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.   Ammar 808 feat. Kali Dass: “Ey Paavi”. From “Global Control / Invisible Invasion” (Glitterbeat).

2.   Afel Bocoum: “Dakamana”. From “Linde” (World Circuit).

3.   Eyuser: “Nyan Kusae Ro”. From “Didedikasikan” (Wantok).

4.   Matthieu Saglio with Nils Petter Molvaer & Steve Shehan: “Amanecer”. From “El Camino De Los Vientos” (ACT Music).

5.   BJ Cole with Dave Eastoe: “Blue Aloha”. From “Daydream Smile” (BJ Cole).
DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu