Playlist 28.09.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 28.09.2020

On this week's programme:

Rebel Up Records have a cutting-edge compilation to raise money for organisations connected with Black Lives Matter.

Dandana are Netherlands-based with members from Senegal and Gambia.

Thaba features the late South African singer Khusi Seremane and US producer Gabriel Cyr.

Zazou Bikaye were an ’80s collaboration between Bony Bikaye and Hector Zazou.

Analog Africa’s new excursion is the Colombian sound of Rafael Machuca’s ’70s label.

Bogota’s Meridian Brothers have their eccentric take on Machuca’s cumbia and other ’70s bands.

Selma Uanusse blends trad Mozambique folklore with worldwide influences.

Djely Tapa is Malian-Canadian singer and award-winner, Sountougoumba Diarra.

Pascal Diatta is the late unique Senegalese guitarist, whose 1987 album, long unavailable, is now released digitally.

Baba Zula, Turkish veterans of psych-groove, perform live and direct to disc.

The London Festival of Korean Music kicks off live and online on 30th October -

The On The Corner label has a sumptuous new collection of its left-field uncategorisable wares.

Rob Mazurek is an influential multi-disciplinary artist from the ’90s Chicago school, working in Texas.

The A.G.A Trio combines the cultures of Armenia, Turkey and Georgia.

Ann O’aro is an exciting recent voice from La Réunion.

The Kronos Quartet and their team take on the Pete Seeger legacy.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday September 28th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.Onipa: “Nipa Bi”.

2.Ayuune Sule: “Keleke”.

3.Duke: “Mama”.All from “African Electronic Diaspora - Black Lives Matter” (Rebel Up Records 2020).

4.Dandana: “Ever Living”. From “Free The System” (Rebel Up Records 2020).

5.Thaba: “Warrior”. From “Eyes Rest Their Feet” (Soundway 2020).

6.Zazou Bikaye: “Nostalgie”. From “Mr Manager” (Crammed Discs 1985/2020).

7.El Grupo Folclórico: “Tamba”.

8.El Grupo Folclórico: “Jupiti”. Both from the compilation “La Locura de Machuco” (forthcoming on Analog Africa).

9.Meridian Brothers: “Cumbia Del Relicario”. From “Cumbia Siglo XXI” (Les Disques Bongo Joe 2020).

10.Selma Uanusse: “Hoyo Hoyo”. From “Liwoningo” (Ao Sul do Mundo 2020).

11.Djely Tapa: “Pachagon”. From “Barokan” (Disques Nuits d’Afrique 2020).

12.Pascal Diatta & Sona Mané: “Quinto Djiranna”. From “Simnadé +4” (Ghosts From The Basement 2020).

13.Baba Zula: “Kücük Kurbaga (Froggie)”. From “Hayvan Gibi” (Night Dreamer 2020).

14.Jambinai: “Time of Extinction”.

15.Leenalchi: “Tiger is Coming”.Both from “Best Of The K-Music Festival” (Korean Cultural Centre 2020).

***London’s Festival of Korean Music takes place live and online from Oct 30th to Nov 16th - ***

16.Petwo Evans: “Wheels”. From the compilation “Door To The Cosmos” (On The Corner 2020).

17.Rob Mazurek & Exploding Star Orchestra: “A wrinkle in time sets concentric circles reeling”. Single from forthcoming album “Dimensional Stardust” (International Anthem / Nonesuch).

18.A.G.A Trio: “Adanayi Voghpe / Adana Agidi”. From “Meeting” (Naxos World/ARC 2020).

19.Ann O’aro: “Longoz”. From “Longoz” (Buda Musique 2020).

20.Kronos Quartet feat. Meklit: “The President sang Amazing Grace”. From “Long Time Passing: Kronos Quartet & Friends celebrate Pete Seeger” (Smithsonian Folkways 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.Ammar 808: “Global Control / Invisible Invasion” (Glitterbeat).

2.Meridian Brothers: “Cumbia Siglo XXI” (Bongo Joe).

3.Mahsa Vahdat: “Enlighten The Night” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted).

4.Various Artists: “African Electronic Diaspora - Black Lives Matter” (Rebel Up Records).

5.Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids: “Shaman” (Strut).

6.Asian Dub Foundation: “Access Denied” (X Ray Production).

7.Various Artists: “Door To The Cosmos” (On The Corner).

8.Matthieu Saglio: “El Camino De Los Vientos” (ACT Music).

9.Afel Bocoum: “Linde” (World Circuit).

10. 47Soul: “Semitics” (Cooking Vinyl).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1. Kuentu i Tambu & Wiwek: “Dem A Call It Tambu”. From “African Electronic Diaspora - Black Lives Matter” (Rebel Up Records).

2. El Grupo Folclórico: “Jupiti”. From the compilation “La Locura de Machuca” (Analog Africa).

3. Thaba: “Confided”. From “Eyes Rest Their Feet” (Soundway).

4. Samora: “Free Up”. From “Female Reggae Voices - Riddim Album” (Staudenmann).

5. Ustad Saami: “Prayer for a Saint”. From “Pakistan Is For The Peaceful” (Glitterbeat).
DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu