Playlist 28.05.2024 - DJ NigelWood

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 28.05.2024



Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Tuesday May 28th. The programme goes out every Tuesday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at and thereafter on Mixcloud

1.    Bassekou Kouyate & Amy Sacko: “Djama”.
2.    Bassekou Kouyate & Amy Sacko: “Seydou Nantourne”.  Both from “Djudjon, L’oiseau de Garana” (One World Records 2024).

3.    Zawose Queens: “Maisha”. From the forthcoming album “Maisha” (Real World).

4.    Atanda: “Wake up Africa”. From “Ómónilé, Son Of The Soil” (One World Records 2024).

5.    Sanam: “Aykathani Malakon”.
6.    Sanam: “Oulo La Emmo”.  Both from “Live at Cafe Oto, London” (Mais Um 2024).

7.    Gordan: “Ne spominji oči plave”.
8.    Gordan: “O Nikola”.  Both from “Gordan” (Glitterbeat 2024).

9.    Cyril Cyril: “Microonda Sahara”. From “Le Futur Ça Marche Pas” (Bongo Joe 2024).

10.  Maria Mazzotta: “Terra ca nun senti”.
11.  Maria Mazzotta: “Viestesana”.  Both from “Onde” (Zero Nove Nove 2024).

12.  Amaro Freitas: “Mapinguari (Encantado da Mata)”.
13.  Amaro Freitas: “Uiara (Encantada da Agua)”.
14.  Amaro Freitas: “Viva Nana
15.  Amaro Freitas: “Dança dos Martelos”.  All from “Y’Y” (Psychic Hotline 2024).

16.  Shabaka Hutchings: “Body to inhabit”. From “Perceive Its Beauty, Acknowledge Its Grace” (Shabaka Hutchings 2024).

17.  Go Go Penguin: “Wave decay”. From “From The North - Live in Manchester” (Sony 2024).

18.  Malcolm Jiyane Tree-O: “Mabrrrrrrr”. From “True Story” (Mushroom Hour x New Soil).

19.  Guro Kvifte Neisheim & Floating Sofa Quartet: “Devil among the sailors”. From the forthcoming album “Kystnært!” (Taragot Sounds).

20.  Po’ Ramblin Boys: ‘Lonely pine” (Single - Smithsonian Folkways).

21.  Kaia Kater: “In Montreal”.
22.  Kaia Kater: “Often as the autumn”. Both from “Strange Medicine” (Free Dirt 2024).

23.  Mari Kalkun: “Maaimä (Mother Earth)”  (Single on Real World 2024).

24.  Owen Spafford & Louis Campbell: “102 Metres East”. From the EP “102 Meters East” (Real World 2024).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Recommendations below!


Check out my website:
Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood
Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.  Various Artists: “Congo Funk! Sound Madness from the shores of the mighty Congo River - Kinshasa/Brazzaville 1969-1982” (Analog Africa).

2.  Za! & Perrate: “Jolifanto” (Love Monk).

3.  Sam Lee: “Songdreaming” (Cooking Vinyl).
4.  Syriana: “1325 Ibn Battutah” (Grand Duc Records).
5.  Jembaa Groove: “Ye Ankasa/We Ourselves” (Agogo Records).
6.  Leyla McCalla: “Sun Without The Heat” (Leyla McCalla).

7.  Kiran Ahluwalia: “Comfort Food” (Six Degrees).
8.  Aynur: “Rabe” (Dreyer-Gaido).

9.  Dele Sosimi & The Estuary 21: “The Confluence” (Wah Wah 45).

10.  Catherine Graindorge: “Songs For The Dead” (tak:til/Glitterbeat).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.   Meridian Brothers: “En el caribe estoy triste”. Single from forthcoming album “Mi Latinoamérica Sufre” (Ansonia/Bongo Joe).

2.   Gordan: “Barabinska”. From “Gordan” (Glitterbeat).

3.   El Khat: “Tislami Tislami”. From the forthcoming album “mute” (Glitterbeat).

4.   Shabaka Hutchings: “Insecurities”. From “Perceive Its Beauty, Acknowledge Its Grace” (Shabaka Hutchings).

5.   Huun-Huur-Tu, Carmen Rizzo, Dhani Harrison: “Remembering Ulatay River”. From “Dreamers In The Field” (Dark Horse/BMG).
DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu