Playlist 24.08.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 24.08.2020

On this week's programme:

Black Fire Records were at the centre of black political consciousness and spirituality in 1970s America.

Oneness of Juju, created in the ’70s and led by James “Plunky” Branch, were a seminal jazz-funk band from the art scene of New York.

The Meridian Brothers, led by Eblis Alvarez, have a contemporary and idiosyncratic take on cumbia.

Ayom are a Barcelona band with members from Angola, Brazil, Greece and Italy.

47Soul are the Palestinian-Jordanian originators of “shamstep”.

Courtney Jones, R.I.P., made a reggae album with Ali Tersch, of steel pan and kalimba music.

Chezidek is a roots reggae singer from Jamaica.

The centenarian calypsonian Walter Ferguson gets an album of tributes.

The upcoming Rough Guide to Urban Mali features a cast of 20-somethings.

Sahel Sounds new WhatsApp EP features an outfit from Niamey.

Lingo Seini is from the Nigerien Hauka people, playing ritual and ceremonial music.

Baba Zula are Turkish alternative psych groovers with a direct-to-disc album on the way.

The Rheingans Sisters, Rowan and Anna, are a folk duo from Sheffield.

Matthieu Saglio is a French cellist based in Valencia, Spain.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday August 24th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Oneness of Juju: “African Rhythms (Live in Washington DC, 1975)”.

2.    Wayne Davis: “Look at the People!”.   Both from “Soul Love Now: The Black Fire Records Story 1975-1993” (Strut 2020).

3.    Juju & the Space Rangers: “Got to be right on it”. From “Oneness of Juju - African Rhythms 1970-1982” (Strut 2020).

4.    Meridian Brothers: “Cumbia Totalitaria”. From “Cumbia Siglo XXI” (Bongo Joe 2020).

5.    Ayom: “Ayom Manifesto” (Single - Amplifica 2020).

6.    47Soul: “Dabke System”.

7.    47Soul: “Hold your ground”.  Both from “Semitics” (Cooking Vinyl 2020).

8.    C Jones meets Ale X: “Sunshine Dub”. Single from the album “Kalimba is my Telephone in Dub” (Echo Beach 2020).

9.    Chezidek: “March”. Single from the album “Hello Africa” (Tad’s International 2020).

10.  Devon Seale: “Glamour Gal”. From the compilation “Walter Ferguson - 100 Years of Calypso” (DyM-Online 2020).

11.  Alfi Boy: “Kankou Moussa”.

12.  Casha: “A Kadiyé.  Both from “The Rough Guide to Urban Mali” (forthcoming on World Music Network).

13.  Andal Sukabe: “Kawle”

14.  Andal Sukabe: “Niger Leydi Main”. Both from the EP “Saharan WhatsApp 7 - Andal Sukabe” (Sahel Sounds 2020).

15.  Lingo Seini et son groupe: “Gomno Ankreyze”. From “Musique Hauka” (Sahel Sounds 2020).

16.  Baba Zula: “Tavus Havasi”. Single from forthcoming album “Hayvan Gibi” (Night Dreamer).

17.  Rheingans Sisters: “The Yellow of the Flowers”.

18.  Rheingans Sisters: “Östbjörka”.  Both from “Receiver” (forthcoming on Bendigedig).

19.  Matthieu Saglio: “Les Cathédrales”.

20.  Matthieu Saglio with Camille Saglio: “Atman”.  Both from “El Camino de los Vientos” (ACT Music 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.  Oumou Sangaré: “Acoustic” (No Format!).


2.  Meridian Brothers: “Cumbia Siglo XXI” (Bongo Joe).


3.  Bamba Wassoulou Groove: “Dankélé” (Lusafrica).


4.  Various Artists: “Walter Ferguson - 100 Years of Calypso” (DyM-Online).


5.  Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids: “Shaman” (Strut).


6.  Etuk Ubong: “Africa Today” (Night Dreamer).


7.  Gillian Welch: “Boots No. 2: The Lost songs Vol. 1” (Acony).


8.  Sharhabil Ahmed: “The King of Sudanese Jazz” (Habibi Funk).   

9.  Mulatu Astatke & The Black Jesus Experience: “To Know Without Knowing” (Agogo).

10. Various Artists: “Disques Debs International Vol. 2 - Cadence Revolution” (Strut).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.   Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids: “Shaman”. From “Shaman” (Strut).

2.   Oneness Of Juju: “Soul Love Now”. From “Soul Love Now: The Black Fire Records Story 1975-1993” (Strut).

3.   Ayom: “Ayom Manifesto” (Single on Amplifica).

4.   Matthieu Saglio: “Metit”. From “El Camino De Los Vientos” (ACT Music).

5.   Kronos Quartet with Sam Amidon, Brian Carpenter, Lee Knight & Aoife O’Donovan: “Where have all the flowers gone?”. From the forthcoming album “Long Time Passing: Kronos Quartet & Friends celebrate Pete Seeger” (Smithsonian Folkways).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu