Playlist 23.03.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 23.03.2020

On this week's programme:

Trad Attack are Estonian folk-rockers with a third album.

Xabi Aburruzaga is a Basque trikitixa accordion master.

Jiggy is an Irish ensemble mixing trad with dance rhythms.

The Amsterdam Klezmer Band offer up a new album of Balkan-klezmer tunes.

Dzambo Agusevi are Macedonian brass ambassadors.

Islandman is a Turkish trio of psychedelic electronica.

The electrified traditional Turkish instrument, the saz, gets compiled for the first time.

The K7 Club in Lyon was a hub of talent from the Maghreb back in the day.

Brussels celebrates its status as Gnawa capital of Europe.

Natacha Atlas’ new album, in collaboration with Samy Bishai, is a sublime Arabic-jazz fusion.

Aditya Prakesh is a Carnatic singer from Los Angeles in a fusion project.

Antibalas from New York are pioneers and stalwarts of American afrobeat.

Tamikrest are the leading progressive Tuareg guitar band.

Smithsonian Folkways reissue an early Gambian kora album.

Deep Cabaret recorded their debut album in Real World studios with Justin Adams at the helm.

Kiko Dinucci is the guitarist from Metá Metá amongst many other projects.

Ricardo Richaid is Rio-based guitarist with a debut album.

Wall Matthews is a veteran US guitarist and composer.

John McLaughlin joins forces with vocalist Shankar Mahadevan and legendary tabla-player Zakir Hussain.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday March 23rd. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Trad Attack!: “Rikas sittus”. From “Make Your Move” (forthcoming on Made In Baltics).

2.    Xabi Aburruzaga: “Reel québécois”. From “Bost” (DNDiskak 2020).

3.    Jiggy: “Music for a found harmonium”. From “Hypernova” (Big Beat 2020).

4.    Amsterdam Klezmer Band: “Tripping”. From “Fortuna” (Vetnasj 2020).

5.    Dzambo Agusevi: “Road to East”. From “Brasses for the Masses” (Asphalt Tango 2020).

6.    Islandman: “Dimitro”. Single from forthcoming album “Kaybola” (forthcoming on Music For Dreams).

7.    Asik Emrah: “20. Asrin Bozuk Düzeni”. From the compilation “Uzelli - Elektro Saz 1976-1984” (Uzelli 2020).

8.    Bnat El Maâna: “Hata La Lile Ya Moui Jalab Tayfiya (1993)”. From the compilation “Maghreb K7 Club - Synth Rai, Chaoui & Staifi 1985-1997” (Sofa / Bongo Joe 2020).

9.    Jola: “Ulad Bambara (The Children of the Bambara)”. From “Hidden Gnawa Music In Brussels” (forthcoming on Muziekpublique).

10.  Natacha Atlas: “Words Of A King”. From “Strange Days” (Whirlwind Recordings 2019).

11.  Aditya Prakesh: “Irish Song”. From “Diaspora Kid” (Ropeadope 2020).

12.  Antibalas: “Koto”. From “Fu Chronicles” (Daptone 2020).

13.  Tamikrest: “Anha Achal Wad Namda”.

14.  Tamikrest: “Azawad”.  Both from “Tamotait” (Glitterbeat 2020).

15.  Alhaji Bai Konte & Dembo Konte: “Sutukung Kumbu Sora / Solo”. From “Gambian Griot Kora Duets - featuring Alhaji Bai Konte, Dembo Konte, Ma Lamini Jobate” (Smithsonian Folkways 1979/2020).

16.  Deep Cabaret: “Dronegeese”.

17.  Deep Cabaret: “Wedding Wish”. Both from “Matchless” (Arts Council England 2020).

18.  Kiko Dinucci: “Exu Odara”. From “Rastilho” (Tratore 2020).

19.  Ricardo Richaid: “So na Darkzera”. From “Travesseiro Feliz” (Far Out 2020).

20.  Wall Matthews: “Snowfall”. From “Spine River” (Tompkins Square 2020).

21.  John McLaughlin, Shankar Mahadevan, Zakir Hussain: “Kabir”. From “Is That So?” (Abstract Logix 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.   Roberto Fonseca: “Yesun” (Mack Avenue).


2.  Jiggy: “Hypernova” (Big Beat).


3.  Nelia Safaie: “Songs from Lands of Silence” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted).


4.  Natacha Atlas: “Strange Days” (Whirlwind).


5.  Aynur: “Hedur - Solace of Time” (Aynur).


6.  Various Artists: “Uzelli - Elektro Saz 1976-1984” (Uzelli).


7.  Yorkston Thorne Khan: “Navarasa: Nine Emotions” (Domino).


8.  Tamikrest: “Tamotait” (Glitterbeat).


9.  Antibalas: “Fu Chronicles” (Daptone).

10. Sam Lee: “Old Wow” (Cooking Vinyl).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.   Cheb Runner feat. Maälem Hicham Bilali: “Yabalini”. From the EP “Tagnawit” (Rebel Up).

2.   Macka B: “Cucumba To Di World” (Single on Peckings Records).

3.   Nordine Staifi: “Zine Ezzinet”. Single from forthcoming compilation “Maghreb K7 Club: “Synth Rai, Chaoui & Staiif 1985-1997” (Bongo Joe).

4.   Dennis Brown: “Armageddon”. From “Satisfaction Feeling - Deluxe Edition” (Tad’s Records).

5.   John McLaughlin, Shankar Mahadevan, Zakir Hussain: “Kabir”. From “Is That So?” (Abstract Logix).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu