Playlist 22.06.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 22.06.2020

On this week's programme:

Nihiloxica are a Ugandan percussion troupe modified by pq and Spooky-J.

Dandana are a collective from Netherlands, Senegal and Gambia.

Etuk Ubong is fiery Nigerian jazzman channeling Fela’s afrobeat attitude.

Oumou Sangare’s acoustic re-workings of her “Mogoya” album.

Ammar 808 is Sofia Ben Youssef’s project at work in Chennai, India.

Bab L’Bluz, French North African band, are the latest signing to Real World.

Shiran is from Tel Aviv with Yemeni and Iraqi ancestry.

La Banda Morisca are Andalusians with a new album extolling female power.

Mélodie Gimard is a French pianist playing flamenco style.

Kutiman is Israeli Ophir Kutiel, with music from his Tanzanian travels.

Dinastía Torres make and play marimbas in the Colombian forest.

Chyskyyrai is a shamanic Siberian singer accompanied by Tim Hodgkinson (ex-Henry Cow) and Ken Hyder.

Kora players Dembo Konte & Kausu Kouyate are veterans of the early UK/European world music scene.

ORieL is a reggae singer born on the island of Dominica.

Danyel Waro is authoritative singer/percussionist from La Réunion.

Ricardo Vignini is a Brazilian viola caipira master in a contemporary “sertejo” genre.

Carla Pires combines fado with other Portuguese roots.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday June 22st. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Nihiloxica: “Tewali Sukali”. From “Kaloli” (Crammed Discs 2020).

2.    Dandana: “Free The System”. Single from the forthcoming album “Free The System” (Rebel Up).

3.   Les Frères Smith feat. Seun Kuti: “No Waiting”. From the compilation “Global Riddims Vol. 1” (NYP Records 2020).

4.    Etuk Ubong: “Spiritual Change”. From “Africa Today” (Night Dreamer 2020).

5.    Oumou Sangare: “Djoukourou”. Single from forthcoming album “Acoustic” (No Format!).

6.    Ammar 808 feat. Susha: “Marivere gati”. Single from forthcoming album “Global Control / Invisible Invasion” (Glitterbeat).

7.    Bab L’Bluz: “Waydelel”. From “Nayda!” (Real World 2020).

8.    Shiran: “Khatar Ghousn Al Qana”. From “Glsah Sanaanea with Shiran” (Batov 2020).

9.    La Banda Morisca: “Rumba Morisca”. From “Gitana Mora” (La Banda Morisca 2020).

10.  Mélodie Gimard: “Laberinto (Bulerias)”. From “Numen” (One World Records 2020).

11.  Kutiman: “Awake In The Rain”. Single from forthcoming album “Wachaga” (Siyal Music).

12.  Dinastía Torres: “Ya Repunta Elagua”. From “Los Duendes De La Marimba” (Palenque Records 2020).

13.  Chyskyyrai: “Tuul (Doon Hame)”. From “Siberia Extreme” (Indigenous Life Forms 2020).

14.  Dembo Konte & Kausu Kouyate: “Ngaleng Sonko”. From “Kairabi Jabi” (Ghosts from the Basement / Rogue 2020).

15.  ORieL: “Down Where I Live” (Single re-release on Afar Music 2020).

16.  Danyel Waro: “N’In Zour”. From “Tinn Tout” (Buda Musique 2020).

17.  Ricardo Vignini: “Balada de Zé Jesus”.

18.  Ricardo Vignini: “Vilas e vázeas”. Both from “Reviola” (Ricardo Vignini 2019).

19.  Carla Pires: “Sozinha Comigo”. From “Cartografado” (Ocarina Music 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.   Groupe RTD: “The Dancing Devils of Djibouti” (Ostinato).


2.  Shiran: “Glsah Sanaanea with Shiran” (Batov).


3.  Transglobal Underground: “Walls Have Ears” (Mule Satellite).


4.  Edikanfo: “The Pace Setters” (Glitterbeat).


5.  Melingo: “Oasis” (Buda Musique).


6.  Etuk Ubong: “Africa Today” (Night Dreamer).


7.  Danyel Waro: “Tinn Tout” (Buda Musique).


8.  Dinastía Torres: “Los Duendes de la Marimba” (Palenque Records).


9.  Gnawa Youmala: “Dounya” (Global Sonics).

10. Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela: “Rejoice” (World Circuit).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.   Ammar 808 feat. Susha: “Marivere gati”. Single from forthcoming album “Global Control / Invisible Invasion” (Glitterbeat).

2.   Minyo Crusaders & Frente Cumbiero: “Minyo Cumbiero (From Tokyo to Bogota)” (Single from EP on Mais Um).

3.   Bantou Mentale: “Congo Animal”. From the EP “Congo Animal” (Glitterbeat).

4.   Mulatu Astatke & The Black Jesus Experience: “Ambassa Lemdi”. From “To Know Without Knowing” (Agogo).

5.   Ghalia Benali & Romina Lischka: “Teryaq”. From “Call To Prayer” (Fuga Libera).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu