Playlist 21.12.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 21.12.2020

On this week's programme:

This is Part 2 of my year’s highlights.Part 1 will be repeated next week (28th Dec) & Part 2 will be aired again on Jan 4th. Then it’s back into the new releases for the New Year - they’re already piling up!

Many thanks to all who have listened, to all labels and distributors who have sent in music to the show, and especially to all the amazing musicians, from near and far, who have made these programmes possible.

Wishing everyone an enjoyable festive season and especially a very happy, and much safer 2021!


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday December 21st. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela: “Robbers, Thugs & Muggers”. From “Rejoice” (World Circuit 2020).

2.Dudu Pukwana & The Spears: “Pezulu (alternate take)”. From “Dudu Pukwana & The Spears” (Matsuli 1969/2020).

3.Kawe Calypso: “Caroline”. From the compilation “100 Years of Calypso - Walter Ferguson” (Danza y Movimiento 2020).

4.Koumbit: “Lage Yo”. From the compilation “Disque Debs International Vol. 2 - Cadence Revolution” (Strut 2020).

5.Ayom: “Ayom Manifesto”. From “Ayom” (Amplifica 2020).

6.Anibal Velasquez: “La Mazamorra Del Diablo”. >From the compilation “La Locura De Machuca” (Analog Africa 2020).

7.Edikanfo: “Nka Bom”. From “The Pace Setters” (Glitterbeat 2020).

8.Africa Negra: “Zimbabwe”. From the compilation “Léve Léve: São Tomé & Príncipe Sounds 70s - 80s” (Bongo Joe 2020).

9.Bamba Wassoulou Groove: “Dankélé”. From “Dankélé” (Lusafrica 2020).

10.Dandana: “Free The System”. From the compilation “African Electronic Diaspora” (Rebel Up 2020).

11.Jon Hassell & Farafina: “(Like) Warriors Everywhere [Courage]”. From “Flash Of The Spirit” (tak:til / Glitterbeat 2020).

12.Eleonora Bordonaro: “Sprajammu di la luna”. >From “Moviti Ferma” (Finisterre 2020).

13.Wu Fei & Abigail Washburn: “Water is wide / Wusuli Boat Song”. From “Wu Fei & Abigail Washburn” (Smithsonian Folkways 2020).

14.Kronos Quartet feat. Lee Knight: “Which Side Are You On”. From “Kronos Quartet & Friends Celebrate Pete Seeger - Long Time Passing” (Smithsonian Folkways 2020).

15.Yorkston Thorne Khan: “The shearing’s not for you”. From “Navarasa: Nine Emotions” (Domino 2020).

16.Ustad Saami: “Prayer for a Saint” (edit). From “Pakistan Is For The peaceful” (Hidden Musics - Glitterbeat 2020).

17.Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids: “Dogon Mysteries”. From “Shaman!” (Strut 2020).

18.Arizona Dranes: “It’s All Right Now”. From the compilation “The Rough Guide to the Roots of Gospel” (World Music Network 2020).

19.Blind Willie McTell & Curley Weaver: “Lord have mercy if you please”. From the compilation “The Rough Guide to Spiritual Blues” (World Music Network 2020).

20.Joachim Cooder: “Backwater Blues”. From “Over That Road I’m Bound” (Nonesuch 2020).

21.Sam Lee: “Lay This Body Down”. From “Old Wow” (Cooking Vinyl 2020).

22.Gillian Welch: “Strange Izabella”. From “Boots No. 2: The Lost Songs Vol. 1” (Acony Records 2020).

23.Andrew Cronshaw: “Mo Ghaol Oigear A’Chuil Duinn (My Darling Is The Brown-Haired Young Man)”. From “Zithers” (Cloud Valley 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.Ayom: “Ayom Manifesto” (Amplifica).

2.Lo’Jo: “Transe de Papier” (LoJo).

3.Les Mamans du Congo & Rrobin: “Les Mamans du Congo & Rrobin” (Jarring Effects).

4.Madou Sidiki Diabaté: “Djigui”. From “Kora Electrique” (Amarrass).

5.Joachim Cooder: “Over That Road I’m Bound” (Nonesuch).

6.Ceferina Banquez: “No Me Dejen Sola!” (OM Producciones).

7.Sandeep Das & The HUM Ensemble: “Delhi To Damascus” (In a Circle Records).

8.Kronos Quartet: “Long Time Passing: Kronos Quartet & Friends celebrate Pete Seeger” (Smithsonian Folkways).

9.Afel Bocoum: “Linde” (World Circuit).

10. Alexandræ: “Gaudeamus Omnes” (Segell Microscopi).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1. Alostmen feat Medikal: “Do Good”. From “Teach Me” (Strut).

2. Kokoroko: “Baba Ayoola” (Single - Kokoroko).

3. Errol Linton: “No Entry Blues”. From “No Entry” (Errol Linton).

4. 3,14: “Qazzaz”. From “Bombyx Mori” (World Within Worlds).

5. Torsvik / Winter: “Presence (Movement 1)”. From “Hidden Soul of the Fjords” (NXN).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu