Playlist 21.09.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 21.09.2020

On this week's programme:

Asian Dub Foundation have been combining rock, beats, global sounds and politics since 1993.

47Soul are from the Palestinian diaspora, most recently based in London.

Sofyann Ben Youssef, in his Ammar 808 incarnation, is working with voices from Chennai, India.

Markus are a trio from France backing Shahzad Santoo Khan on vocals.

Toots is gone and much missed. His classic period was mid ’60s to mid ’70s, represented here.

Analog Africa’s next excursion is the ’70s underground sound of coastal Colombia.

Gitkin is Brian J, peripatetic guitarist of New Orleans.

La Banda Morisca draw connections between Andalusian folk and Moorish forebears.

Lisa Lambe is an Irish singer and ex-member of Celtic Woman.

The Rheingans Sisters are Rowan and Anna from Sheffield.

Andy One is a Malawian producer in a new series of electronic digital musics from Africa.

Afel Bocoum, elder statesman of Malian music, first came to notice playing in the band of the late Ali Farka Touré.

Djely Tapa is Malian-Canadian singer and award-winner, Sountougoumba Diarra.

Matthieu Saglio is leading French cellist, resident in Valencia, Spain.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday September 21st. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.Asian Dub Foundation feat. Greta Thunberg: “Youthquake Pt 1 - Greta speaks”.

2.Asian Dub Foundation feat. Stewart Lee: “Coming over here”. Both from “Access Denied” (X Ray Production 2020).

3.47Soul: “47 Cocktail”. From “Semitics” (Cooking Vinyl 2020).

4.Ammar 808 feat. Yogeswaran Manickam: “Summa solattumaa”. From “Global Control / Invisible Invasion” (Glitterbeat 2020).

5.Markus & Shahzad: “Bulla”. From “Janna Aana” (Dionysiac Records 2020).

6.Toots & the Maytals: “If you act this way”.

7.Toots & the Maytals: “54-46 that’s my number”.

8.Toots & the Maytals: “Pressure Drop”. All from “Toots & The Maytals - Pressure Drop: The Definitive Collection” (Trojan 2005).

9.Toots & the Maytals: “Time Tough”. From “In The Dark” (Dragon 1974).

10.Toots & the Maytals: “Funky Kingston”. From “Toots & The Maytals - Pressure Drop: The Definitive Collection” (Trojan 2005).

11.Toots & the Maytals: “Revolution”.

12.Toots & the Maytals: “Sailing On”.Both from “In The Dark” (Dragon 1974).

13.Samba Negra: “Eberebijara”. From the compilation “La Locura de Machuco” (forthcoming on Analog Africa).

14.Gitkin: “Nosotros tambien” (Single on Wonderwheel).

15.La Banda Morisca feat. Borke Mundo-Beat: “La choza de Juanquin”. From “Gitana Mora” (Algazara 2020).

16.Lisa Lambe: “Hunter’s Moon”. Single from the album “Juniper” (Blue Élan 2020).

17.Rheingans Sisters: “Insomnia”.

18.Rheingans Sisters: “Salt of the Earth”. Both from “Receiver” (forthcoming on Bendigedig).

19.Andy One: “Mbuye Wanga”. From “Digital Indigenous No. 1 - Imba Africa” (1000 HZ Records 2020).

20.Afel Bocoum: “Bombolo Liilo”. From “Linde” (World Circuit 2020).

21.Djely Tapa: “Fasso”. From “Barokan” (Disques Nuits d’Afrique 2020).

22.Matthieu Saglio with Steve Shehan & Abdoulaye N’Diaye: “Metit”.

23.Matthieu Saglio with Nguyen Le & Bijan Chemirani: “Caravelle”.Both from “El Camino De Los Vientos” (ACT Music 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.Ammar 808: “Global Control / Invisible Invasion” (Glitterbeat).

2.Meridian Brothers: “Cumbia Siglo XXI” (Bongo Joe).

3.Mahsa Vahdat: “Enlighten The Night” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted).

4.Various Artists: “Walter Ferguson - 100 Years of Calypso” (DyM-Online).

5.Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids: “Shaman” (Strut).

6.Asian Dub Foundation: “Access Denied” (X Ray Production).

7.Various Artists: “Soul Love Now: The Black Fire Records Story 1975-1993” (Strut).

8.Matthieu Saglio: “El Camino De Los Vientos” (ACT Music).

9.Afel Bocoum: “Linde” (World Circuit).

10. 47Soul: “Semitics” (Cooking Vinyl).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1. Asian Dub Foundation: “Youthquake pt 1 - Greta speaks”. From “Access Denied” (X Ray Production).

2. Samba Negra: “Eberebijara”. From the compilation “La Locura de Machuca” (Analog Africa).

3. Thaba: “Warrior”. From “Eyes Rest Their Feet” (Soundway).

4. Kronos Quartet feat. Meklit: “The President sang Amazing Grace”. From “Long Time Passing: Kronos Quartet & Friends celebrate Pete Seeger” (Smithsonian Folkways).

5. Ann O’aro: “Longoz”. From “Longoz” (Buda Musique).
DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu