Playlist 19.10.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 19.10.2020

On this week's programme:

Floridian Papa Rosko has Toots Hibbert on board for a rocking version of Johnny Cash’s prison song.

Prince Fatty goes the full Alice on a reggae version of the Jefferson Airplane classic.

Soom T is Glaswegian vocalist of Indian heritage.

La Dame Blanche is Cuban hip-hop singer, flautist, and daughter of Buena Vista veteran.

São Paulo’s Mariana Degani is singer-songwriter and visual artist.

André Abujamra is a Brazilian composer, singer, guitarist, actor and comedian.

Israeli singer, Liraz, of Iranian heritage, has clandestinely collaborated with Iranian musicians.

Islandman is a Turkish trio playing Anatolian electronic music with influences in the ’70s.

Ozferti is led by Florian Doucet from La Chiva Gantiva and Terrakota, but with Ethiopian influences.

The Bahama Soul Club are from Germany, while Ojiba Afrobeat are from Lithuania.

Ceferina Banquez is a Colombian countrywoman inspired by her work in the fields.

Orquesta Failde are a young group keeping Cuban tradition fresh and alive.

Ayom are Barcelona-based, with members from Brazil and Angola.

The UK’s Mariachi las Adelitas are the only all-female European mariachi band.

Urban Village are a Soweto quartet steeped in the history and culture of their homeplace.

The A.G.A Trio bring together musicians from Georgia, Turkey and Armenia.

Wassim Mukdad is a Syrian oud player in exile in California, joined by notable players of percussion and clarinet.

The Kronos Quartet and friends pay fulsome tribute to folk and protest singer Pete Seeger.

Amando Risueño is an Argentinian guitarist resident in France, playing works by Atahualpa Yupanqui.

John Lee Shannon is a Californian guitarist whose solo album is a tribute to his late friend Neal Casal.

French violinist Gabriel Bismut joins forces with Italian accordionist Maurizio Minardi.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday October 19th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.Papa Rosko feat. Toots: “Fulsom Prison Blues”. From “Papa Rosko” (MRI / Orchard 2020).

2.Prince Fatty & Shniece Mcmenamin: “Black Rabbit” (Single on Evergreen 2020).

3.Soom T: “Sold Out to the Devil”. From “The Arch” (X-Ray Productions 2020).

4.La Dame Blanche: “La Creyente”. From “Ella” (Boa Viagem 2020).

5.Mariana Degani: “Posludio”. From “Opera Venus” (Mariana Degani 2020).

6.André Abujamra: “O Mundo”. From the compilation “Brasil Calling #8” (Brasil Calling 2020).

7.Liraz: “Injah”. Single from forthcoming album “Zan” (Glitterbeat).

8.Islandman: “Kara Toprak” (Single on Music For Dreams 2020).

9.Ozferti feat. Ayou Nagesh & the Sons of Dire Dawa: “Space Gurage”. From “Solarius Gamma” (Humpty Dumpty 2020).

10.Bahama Soul Club: “Mango”. From the compilation “Global Riddims Vol. 3” (NYP Records 2020).

11.Ojibo Afrobeat: “Dodgy Fella”. From the compilation “Mukambo presents Global Afrobeat Movement” (NYP Records 2020).

12.Ceferina Banquez: “Sin pantaleta”. From “No Me Dejen Sola!” (OM Producciones 2020).

13.Orquesta Failde: “Havana”. From “Failde Con Tumbao” (Orquesta Failde 2020).

14.Ayom: “Cachaça e macarrão”. Single from forthcoming album “Manifesto” (Amplifica Records).

15.Mariachi las Adelitas: “El Toro Relajo” (Single - Mariachi las Adelitas 2020).

16.Urban Village: “Ubaba (radio edit)”.

17.Urban Village: “Sakhisizwe”. Both from the EP “Ubaba” (No Format!).

18.A.G.A Trio: “Siretsi Yars Taran”. From “Meeting” (Naxos World / ARC).

19.Mukdad Rothenberg Lankow: “In the wake of memories”. From “In The Wake Of Memories” (Clermont 2020).

20.Kronos Quartet feat. Maria Arnal: “Anda Jaleo”. From “Long Time Passing: Kronos Quartet & Friends celebrate Pete Seeger” (Smithsonian Folkways 2020).

21.Amando Risueño: “La nadita”.

22.Amando Risueño: “Los ejes de mi carreta”.Both from “El Canto del Viento” (Nuevo Mundo 2020).

23.John Lee Shannon: “Trail Song”. From “In & Of” (Tompkins Square 2020).

24.Gabriel Bismut & Maurizio Minardi: “Penguin”. From “Le Chat Brel” (AMA Recording 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.Various Artists: “Mukambo presents Global Afrobeat Movement” (NYP Records).

2.Meridian Brothers: “Cumbia Siglo XXI” (Bongo Joe).

3.Ann O’aro: “Longoz” (Buda Musique).

4.Various Artists: “African Electronic Diaspora - Black Lives Matter” (Rebel Up Records).

5.Various Artists: “La Locura de Machuca” (Analog Africa).

6.Ceferina Banquez: “No Me Dejen Sola!” (OM Producciones).

7.Various Artists: “Door To The Cosmos” (On The Corner).

8.Kronos Quartet: “Long Time Passing: Kronos Quartet & Friends celebrate Pete Seeger” (Smithsonian Folkways).

9.Afel Bocoum: “Linde” (World Circuit).

10. Ustad Saami: “Pakistan Is For The Peaceful” (Glitterbeat).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1. Modeste Hugues & Kilema: “Afa-Doza”. From “Green World - Songs from Madagascar” (ARC).

2. Urban Village: “Sakhisizwe”. From the EP “Ubaba” (No Format!).

3. Masters of Persian Music feat. Mohammad Reza Shajarian & Kayhan Kalhor: “Torkaman”. From “The Rough Guide to the Music of Iran” (World Music Network 2006).

4. Sumeet Anand Pandey: “Sargam ki Bandish”. From “Morning Meditation - Darbhanga Dhrupad Tradition” (ARC).

5. Lin Shicheng & Gao Hong: “Moonlight over the Spring River”. From “Hunting Eagles, Catching Swans” (ARC).
DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu