Playlist 19.02.2018

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 19.02.2018

"Ear to the Globe" playlist information - broadcast on 19/02/2018

On this week's programme:

"The Self Preservation Society" is a triple vinyl collection of '60s and '70s music recreated by an fine array of folk musicians and others.

Eskorzo are Granada mestizos with Amparanoia guesting.

Cesaria Evora is reborn, Mindelo Carnival version.

Sara Tavares is Lisbon born and based, of Cape Verdean descent.

Spirited Palestinian exiles, 47Soul, have a powerful new album.

Dirtmusic have gritty tales of borders and exiles, in collaboration with Baba Zula's main man.

Djeneba & Fousco are a Malian couple, in life and music.

Melissa Laveaux, Toronto- and, recently, Paris-based, has songs from her ancestral home of Haiti and its history of colonialism.

The Sound Species duo give electronic enhancement to Ache Meyi's Haitian voices and percussion.

Maga Bo has taken on the traditional Pernambuco outfit, Samba de Coco Raizes de Arcoverde, for contemporary makeover.

Son Palenque are full-force Afro-Colombian rhythmic traditionalists.

Irka Mateo is a researcher of the musics of the Dominican Republic countryside.

Indialucia combines the flamenco skills of Miguel Czachowski from Poland with Indian violin percussion and voice.

Zanmari Bare sings and plays the sweet music of La Reunion.

Senegalese kora virtuoso, Seckou Keita, visits Dublin at the end of the month as a solo artist, but here unveils his new collaboration with Welsh harpist, Catrin Finch.

Anouar Brahem, oud master, plays with the crack team of Dave Holland, Jack DeJohnette and Django Bates.

Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday January 8th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.  Barney Morse-Brown: “Sunshine of Your Love”.

2.  Teddy Thompson: “She’s Not There”.  Both from “The Self-Preservation Society” (ECC 2018).

3.  Gitkin: “Canción del Rey”. (Single on Wonderwheel).

4.  Eskorzo (feat. Amparanoia): “La Tumba”. From “Alerta Canibal” (Rootsound 2017).

5.  Cesaria Evora: “Estanhadinha (versao carnaval)”. From EP "Carnaval de Mindelo" (Lusafrica 2018).

6.  Sara Tavares: “Fitxadu”. From "Fitxadu" (Sony 2017).

7.  47Soul: “Moved Around”.

8.  47Soul: “Mo Light”.  Both from “Balfron Promise” (Cooking Vinyl 2018).

9.  Dirtmusic: “Bi De Sen Soyle”. From “Bu Bir Ruya” (Glitterbeat 2018).

10. Djeneba & Fousco: “Fousco et Djeneba”. From “Kayeba Khasso” (438 Productions / Lusafrica 2018).

11. Melissa Laveaux: “Angeli-Ko”. From “Radyo Siwel” (No Format! 2018).

12. Sound Species & Ache Meyi: “Hyper Bembe!”. From “Sound Species & Ache Meyi” (Mañana 2017).

13. Maga Bo & Samba de Coco Raizes de Arcoverde: “A Sereia”. From "Maga Bo Apresenta Samba de Coco Raizes de Arcoverde" (Kafundó 2018).

14. Son Palenque: “Luca Mini”. From “Kutu Prieta Pa’Saranguia” (Palenque 2017).

15. Irka Mateo feat. La Tirindanga: “Pecao Aciguatao”. From “Vamo a Goza” (Irka Mateo 2017).

16. Indialucia: “Gangaquivir”. From “Acatao” (CM 2017).

17. Zanmari Baré: “Monmon Bib”. From "Voun" (Buda 2018).

18. Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita: "Hinna-Djulo". From "Soar" (ARC 2018).

***Seckou Keita plays The Little Museum of Dublin on February 28th***

19. Anouar Brahem: “La Nuit”. From “Blue Maqams” (ECM 2017).


Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Follow me on Twitter: @djnigelw
*Facebook page - DJ Nigel Wood

*Recommendations below!


Top 10 Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1. Various Artists: Oté Maloya: The Birth of Electric Maloya on Réunion Island 1975-1986" (Strut).


2. Boubacar Traoré: "Dounia Tabolo" (Lusafrica).


3. TootArd: "Laissez Passer" (Glitterbeat).


4. Maya Youssef: "Syrian Dreams" (Harmonia Mundi).


5. La TchouTchouKa: "El Chuchutero" (Helloasso).


6. Maalem Mahmoud Gania: "Colours of the Night" (Hive Mind).


7. Orchestre Les Mangalepa: "Last Band Standing" (Strut).


8. Gabacho Maroc: "Tawassol" (Les Arts Alliés).         


9. Brigid Mae Power: "The Two Worlds" (Tompkins Square).


10. 47Soul: "Shamstep" (EP - 47Soul).

Sound Tracks of the week:

1.  Cesaria Evora: "Angola (versao carnaval)". From EP "Carnaval de Mindelo" (Lusafrica).

2.  47Soul: "Mo Light". From "Balfron Promise" (Cooking Vinyl).

3.  Guy One: "N'Yella Be Bobere". From "#1" (Philophon).


4.  Mulatu Astatke: "Chifara". From "Mulatu of Ethiopia" (Strut).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu