Playlist 18.05.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 18.05.2020

On this week's programme:

Transglobal Underground are back with many of their key contributors including Natacha Atlas.

IslandMan are a Turkish trio incorporating electronic rhythms.

Shantel, the DJ/producer from Frankfurt, is in Istanbul with local musicians.

The Uzelli compilation is a unique collection of electrified saz music from Turkey.

Dzambo Agusevi are a Macedonian brass band, currently No.1 in the Transglobal World Music Chart (

Alkibar Junior are a band from Niakunke in Mali, and their EP was recorded on a mobile phone and sent via WhatsApp.

Al Bilali Soudan take their name from the ancient title of their native Timbuktu.

Fra Fra are a Ghanaian trio specialising in funeral song, and recorded on location by Ian Brennan.

Groupe RTD’s album will be the first international release from Djibouti in East Africa.

Edikanfo’s album was originally released in their native Accra in 1981, and was produced by Brian Eno.

Tony Allen and Hugh Masekela’s new album was recorded in 2010 and now stands as a monument to both.

Maura Guerrera and Malik Ziad bring Sicily closer to North Africa.

Bab L’Bluz are a Moroccan-French outfit with a debut album on the way.

TootArd are a duo from the Golan Heights with a retro electro-pop sound.

Stratis Skarakis is a fiddle-player and singer from Crete.

Trio Tekke are a Cypriot band with a contemporary approach to rembetiko.

Quintet Bumbac are Frenchman, David Brossier’s exploration of Balkan themes.

Frigg are Finnish fiddlers in their 20th year of fiddledom.

JMO are a Swiss concoction of clarinet, kora and oriental percussion.

Brader Musiki is a veteran Kurdish exponent of the tembur.

Damir Imamovic is a Bosnian master of the Sevdah style.  


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday May 18th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Transglobal Underground feat. Natacha Atlas: “Stand Up (Nifhamon)”. From “Walls Have Ears” (Mule Satellite 2020).

2.    IslandMan feat. DJ Pippi & Copenema: “Sem Voce”. >From “Kaybola” (Music For Dreams 2020).

3.    Shantel & Cumbus Cemaat: “Basindaki Yazmayi Mi Boyadin”. From “Istanbul” (Essay 2020).

4.    Akbaba Ikilisi: “Darildim Darildim”. From the compilation “Uzelli - Elektro Saz” (Uzelli 2020).

5.   Dzambo Agusevi: “Macedonian Night Crawler”

6.   Dzambo Agusevi: “Old Bazaar Groove”.  Both from “Brasses for the Masses” (Asphalt Tango 2020).

7.   Alkibar Junior: “Adouna”. From the EP “Saharan WhatsApp 04 - Alkibar Junior” (Sahel Sounds 2020).

8.   Al Bilali Soudan: “Khadeidja”. From “Tombouctou” (Clermont 2020).

9.   Fra Fra: “We Must Grieve Together”. From “Funeral Songs” (Glitterbeat 2020).

10.  Groupe RTD: “Iiso Daymo (Look at me)”. From “The Dancing Devils of Djibouti” (forthcoming on Ostinato).

11.  Edikanfo: “Something Lefeh-O”. From “The Pace Setters” (Glitterbeat 1981/2020).

12.  Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela: “Never (Lagos never gonna be the same)”. From “Rejoice” (World Circuit 2020).

13.  Maura Guerrera & Malik Ziad: “Ramu Vecchiu”. From “Spartenza” (Radicimusic 2020).

14.  Bab L’Bluz: “Ila Mata”. From forthcoming album “Nayda!” (Real World).

15.  TootArd: “Emotional Twist”. From “Migrant Birds” (forthcoming on Glitterbeat).

16.  Stratis Skarakis: “Mono ti nihta thalassa”. From “Mono Ti Nihta Thalassa” (Stratis Skarakis 2020).

17. Trio Tekke: “Erase The Day”. From “Strovilos”  (Riverboat / World Music Network 2020).

18.  Quintet Bumbac: “Cercei - Bulgareasca haiduceasca”. From “Miroirs” (Collectif Çok Malko 2020).

19.  Frigg: “Hakkisen”. From “FriXX” (Frigg 2020).

20.  JMO: “Nitté”. From “Dandoula Tala” (CPL-Music 2020).

21.  Brader Musiki: “Seva Hicran”. From “Herim Kuda” (Terp 2020).

22.  Damir Imamovic: “U  Stambolu na Bosferu”. From “Singer of Tales” (Wrasse 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.   Groupe RTD: “The Dancing Devils of Djibouti” (Ostinato).


2.  Santrofi: “Alewa” (Out Here).


3.  Trio Tekke: “Strovilos” (Riverboat / World Music Network).


4.  Edikanfo: “The Pace Setters” (Glitterbeat).


5.  Wu Fei & Abigail Washburn: “Wu Fei & Abigail Washburn” (Smithsonian Folkways).


6.  Džambo Aguševi Orchestra: “Brasses for the Masses” (Asphalt Tango).


7.  Jola: “Hidden Gnawa Music in Brussels” (Muziekpublique).


8.  Tamikrest: “Tamotait” (Glitterbeat).


9.  Andrew Cronshaw: “Zithers” (Cloud Valley).

10. Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela: “Rejoice” (World Circuit).

Sound Tracks of the Week:
1.   Transglobal Underground: “City In Peril”. From “Walls Have Ears” (Mule Satellite).

2.   Bab L’Bluz: “Ila Mata”. From forthcoming album “Nayda!” (Real World).

3.   Melingo con Miguel Zavaleta: “Hécate”. >From “Oasis” (Buda Musique).

4.   Eleonora Bordonaro: “Menza Spogghia”. From “Moviti Ferma” (Finisterre).

5.   JMO: “Nyong”. From “Dandoula Tala” (CPL-Music).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu