Playlist 17.06.2019

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 17.06.2019

On this week's programme:

DAM are long-running and foremost Palestinian hiphop band.

Bantou Mentale are from the Paris-Kinshasa axis that spawned Mbongwana Star.

Guiss Guiss Bou Bess bill themselves as a Franco-Senegalese electro-sabar group.

Groundation are a Californian reggae outfit with eco-conscious lyrics.

Orquesta Akokán are Cubans revisiting the sound of mambo.

The “Jambu” Brazilian collection is from Belém and surrounds, in the state of Pará.

Dona Onete is from the same area and her new album is imminent.

Congolese guitarist, Dizzy Mandjeku bridges the Atlantic in a collaboration with Alé Kumá from Colombia.

Angelique Kidjo brings her mighty voice to the recordings of Cuban superstar Celia Cruz.

Wassim Halal is an avant-garde darbuka player and arranger with roots in the Lebanon.

Slide-guitar virtuoso, Debashish Bhattacharya, finds empathic backing from two Polish jazz musicians.

Korean musician, Park Jiha, is skilled in traditional instruments, particularly the yanggeum, employing them in contemporary settings.

Longstanding Tuvan outfit, Huun Huur Tu, join forces with Tuareg band Anewal.

The venerable and esteemed UK Topic label celebrates 80 years in existence with an illustrious convening of talent on tunes from their early catalogue.

Rhiannon Giddens, supremely soulful folk singer and player, finds connections with Italian multi-instrumentalist Francesco Turrisi….in Ireland!


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday June 17th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    DAM: “Milliardat”.

2.    DAM: “Overdose”.

3.    DAM: “Emta Njawzak Yamma”.  All from “Ben Haana Wa Maana” (Cooking Vinyl 2019).

4.    Bantou Mentale: “Clando”. From the EP “No Romance” (Glitterbeat 2019).

5.   Guiss Guiss Bou Bess: “Tribute to Alla Seck”. From the EP “Heritage” (

6.   Groundation: “Fossil Fuels” (Single on Baco Reocords 2018).

7.   Orquesta Akokán: “Mambo Rapidito instrumental”. From “Orquesta Akokán - the Instrumentals” (Daptone 2019).

8.   Verequete e O Conjunto Uirapuru: “Mambo Assanhado”.

9.   Vieira e Seu Conjunto: “Lambada Da Baleia”.  Both from “Jambu e Os Miticos Sons da Amazônia” (Analog Africa 2019).

10.  Dona Onete: “Carimbó Arrepiado” (Single from forthcoming album “Rebujo” (Mais Um).

11.  Dizzy Mandjeku & Alé Kumá: “Bolingo”. From “De Palenque a Matongé” (Zephyrus 2019).

12.  Angelique Kidjo: “Bemba Colora”. From “Celia” (Decca 2019).

13. Wassim Halal: “Incantation”. From “Le Cri du Cyclope” (Buda Musique 2018).

14.  Debashish Bhattacharya, Wojtek Traczyk, Hubert Zemler: “Chaturangui Express”. From “Joy! Guru” (

15.  Park Jiha: “Philos”. From “Philos” (tak:til / Glitterbeat 2019).

16.  Huun Huur Tu & Anewal: “Nomad’s Roots”. From

17.  The Oldham Tinkers: “Dirty Old Town”.

18.  Peggy Seeger: “Jack Frost”.

19.  Lisa O’Neill: “As I Roved Out”.

20.  Lankum: “The Sea Captain”.  All from “Vision & Revision: The First 80 Years of Topic Records” (Topic 2019).

21.  Rhiannon Giddens with Francesco Turrisi: “He Will See You Through”. From “There Is No Other” (Nonesuch 2019).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Follow me on Twitter: @djnigelw
*Facebook page - DJ Nigel Wood

*Recommendations below!


Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.  Angelique Kidjo: “Celia” (Decca).  


2.  Rhiannon Giddens with Francesco Turrisi: “There Is No Other” (Nonesuch).


3.  Blick Bassy: “1958” (No Format!).


4.  Various Artists: “Vision & Revision: The First 80 Years of Topic Records” (Topic).


5. Refugees for Refugees: “Amina” (Muziekpublique).


6. Dizzy Mandjeku & Alé Kumá: “De Palenque a Matonge” (Zephyrus).


7. Various Artists: “Jambu e Os Miticos Sons da Amazônia” (Analog Africa).


8. Natu Camara: “Arabama Di”. From “Dimedi” (Natuwenta Productions).  


9. BCUC: “The Healing” (Buda).


10. AKA Trio: “Joy” (Bendigedig).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.  Abbas Kubaff feat. Chantelle: “Tokelezea”. From the compilation “#NuNairobi - Kenya’s Music Hub” (OutHere).

2.  Mambe & Danochilango: “Cumbia Jeringonza”. From “Kosmopolites” (No Bounds).


3.  Marcos Valle: “É Voce”. From “Sempre” (Far Out).

4.  Zulya: “Sixth Day”. From “Six Days Loving” (Zulya Kamalova).

5.  The Oldham Tinkers: “Dirty Old Town”. From the compilation “Vision & Revision: The First 80 Years of Topic Records” (Topic).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu