Playlist 16.11.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 16.11.2020

On this week's programme:

Gaye Su Akyol imbues the Istanbul underground with the spirit of rock ’n’ roll.

Liraz reaches out to her Iranian heritage from her Tel Aviv base.

Ashraf and Viktor’s recipe is beats, bass and sitar.

Lo’Jo are French world masters, led by Denis Péan for 38 years and 17 albums.

Kiko Dinucci is guitarist with Metá Metá amongst many other projects.

Songhoy Blues, from Mali, rock out with optimism.

Kukaya are a percussion and voice trance outfit from Malawi.

Bounaly, from Niafunke, is guitarist with Espoir de Niafounké.

Franck Biyong has recorded a tribute to Manu Dibango and Tony Allen.

Alogte Oho is a Ghanaian gospel groover with his Sounds of Joy.

Errol Linton is a stalwart of the Brixton blues scene with a tasty reggae flavour.

Joachim Cooder releases his second album inspired by the music of Uncle Dave Macon.

Shooglenifty are long-running Scottish free-spirited folk fusion band.

Shum Davar, based in Prague, play East European folk and klezmer.

Kaito Winse is a griot and multi-instrumentalist from Burkina Faso based in Brussels.

3,14 are the trio of Efren Lopez, Ciro Montanari and Jordi Prats, playing rubab, tabla and sarod.

Sandeep Das’ ensemble play oud, tabla, sitar and sarangi, tracing connections between Delhi and Damascus.

Chicago maverick bandleader, Angel Bat Dawid, is recorded live and confrontational in Berlin.

Krononaut are Leo Abrahams’ and Martin France’s improvisatory experimental ensemble.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday November 16th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.Gaye Su Akyol: “Isyan Manifestosu (Rebellion Manifesto)” (Single on Glitterbeat).

2.Liraz: “Joon Joon”. From “Zan” (Glitterbeat 2020).

3.Ashraf Sharif Khan & Viktor Marek: “Barwa”. From “Sufi Dub Brothers” (Fun in the Church 2020).

4.Lo’Jo: “Pas Pareil”.

5.Lo’Jo: “Bal La Poussière”.Both from “Transe De Papier” (LoJo 2020).

6.Kiko Dinucci feat. OGI: “Veneno”. From “Rastilho” (Mais Um 2020).

7.Songhoy Blues: “Korfo”. From “Optimisme” (Transgressive 2020).

8.Kukaya: “Gologolo (The Sleeker)”. From “Kukaya Bili” (1000 HZ 2020).

9.Bounaly: “Takamba”. From “Saharan WhatsApp 10” (Sahel Sounds 2020).

10.Franck Biyong: “Kabasele Kingdom”. From “Radio Masoda” (forthcoming on Afrolectric).

11.Alogte Oho & His Sounds Of Joy: “Yu Ya Yumma”. From “Mam Yinne Wa” (Philophon 2019).

12.Errol Linton: “Big Man’s Gone (I’m On My Way)”. From “No Entry” (Errol Linton 2020).

13.Joachim Cooder: “Heartaching Blues”.

14.Joachim Cooder: “Morning Blues”. Both from “Over That Road I’m Bound” (Nonesuch 2020).

15.Shooglenifty: “Billy’s (Euphoricishness/Billy’s Birthday Tune/Colonel Sig of the 2-2-6)”. From “Acid Croft Vol. 9” (Shoogle 2020).

16.Shum Davar: “Bila”. From “Folklore Fusions” (Shum Davar 2020).

17.Kaito Winse: “Banga”. From “Kaladounia” (Rebel Up 2020).

18.3,14: “3,000 Feet”. From “Bombyx Mori” (World Within Worlds 2020).

19.Sandeep Das & The HUM Ensemble: “I Came, I Saw, I Surrendered”. From “Delhi To Damascus” (In a Circle Records 2020).

20.Angel Bat Dawid & Tha Brothahood: “London”. From “Angel Bat Dawid & Tha Brothahood Live” (International Anthem 2020).

21. Krononaut: “Vision of the Cross”. >From “Krononaut” (tak:til / Glitterbeat 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.Alogte Oho & His Sounds Of Joy: “Mam Yinne Wa” (Philophon).

2.Lo’Jo: “Transe de Papier” (LoJo).

3.Ann O’aro: “Longoz” (Buda Musique).

4.Various Artists: “African Electronic Diaspora - Black Lives Matter” (Rebel Up Records).

5.Joachim Cooder: “Over That Road I’m Bound” (Nonesuch).

6.Ceferina Banquez: “No Me Dejen Sola!” (OM Producciones).

7.Sandeep Das & The HUM Ensemble: “Delhi To Damascus” (In a Circle Records).

8.Kronos Quartet: “Long Time Passing: Kronos Quartet & Friends celebrate Pete Seeger” (Smithsonian Folkways).

9.Afel Bocoum: “Linde” (World Circuit).

10. Ustad Saami: “Pakistan Is For The Peaceful” (Glitterbeat).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1. Errol Linton: “Sad and Lonesome”. From “No Entry” (Errol Linton).

2. Kokoroko: “Baba Ayoola” (Single - Kokoroko).

3. Lo’Jo feat. Tony Allen: “La Rue Passe”. From “Transe de Papier” (LoJo).

4. Brooklyn Raga Massive: “In D Part 2 - Raga Bairagi”. From “In D” (Brooklyn Raga Massive).

5. Sandeep Das & the HUM Ensemble: “Virah - The Longing”. From “Delhi To Damascus” (In A Circle Records).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu