Playlist 14.09.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 14.09.2020

On this week's programme:

French composer Hector Zazou and Congolese artist Bony Bikaye together formed Zazou Bikaye in the 1980s.

Markus are a trio from France backing Shahzad Santoo Khan on vocals.

Sofyann Ben Youssef, in his Ammar 808 incarnation, is working with voices from Chennai, India.

Hama is an electronic keyboard musician from Niamey in Niger.

Asian Dub Foundation have been combining rock, beats, global sounds and politics since 1993.

James Stewart is a DJ in Lyon, collaborating with Ghanaian kologo man, Ayuune Sule.

Bantu are a 13-piece Afrobeat band from Lagos.

Les Mamans du Congo are an afro-feminist band from Brazzaville with Rrobin on beats.

Afel Bocoum first came to notice playing in the band of the late Ali Farka Touré.

Djely Tapa is Malian-Canadian singer and award-winner Sountougoumba Diarra.

“Door to the Cosmos” is a wide ranging cross-genre compilation connecting jazz, world and dance elements.

47Soul are Jordanian Palestinians based in London.

Andy One is a Malawian songwriter and producer.

Kosmo Sound are reggae artists based in Ghent, Belgium.

The Berlin Boom Orchestra are a gathering of German reggae artists in solidarity with refugees.

Ustad Saami is a Pakistan singer of a unique and ancient form of qawwali music.

Burak Malcok is a ney player and sound designer from Turkey.

Idris Ackamoor is an American multi-instrumentalist, composer, actor, tap dancer, producer and director.

Rodrigo Leão is a soundtrack composer and longtime member of Madredeus.

Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday September 14th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.Zazou Bikaye: “Mr Manager”. From “Mr Manager” (Crammed Discs 1985/2020).

2.Markus & Shahzad: “Kamli”. From “Janna Aana” (Dionysiac Records 2020).

3.Ammar 808 feat. Kali Dass: “Arisothari yen devi”. From “Global Control / Invisible Invasion” (Glitterbeat 2020).

4.Hama: “Alhoria”. From the EP “Saharan WhatsApp 8 - Hama” (Sahel Sounds 2020).

5.Asian Dub Foundation feat. Ana Tijoux: “Frontline Santiago”. From “Access Denied” (X Ray Production 2020).

6.James Stewart & Ayuune Sule: “Atlantic River Drive”. From the EP “Atlantic River Drive” (Mawimbi Records 2020).

7.Bantu: “Animal Carnival”. From “Everybody Get Agenda” (forthcoming on Soledad Productions).

8.Les Mamans du Congo & Rrobin: “Boum” (Single on Jarring Effects 2020).

9.Afel Bocoum: “Avion”. From “Linde” (World Circuit 2020).

10.Djely Tapa: “Barokan”. From “Barokan” (Disques Nuits d’Afrique).

11.Edrikz Puzzle: “Jonny Buck Buck”. From the compilation “Door To The Comos” (On The Corner 2020).

12.47Soul: “Sam’s People”. From “Semitics” (Cooking Vinyl 2020).

13.Andy One: “Mental Vimb”. From “Digital Indigenous 01 - Imba Africa” (Sacral Grooves 1000 HZ 2020).

14.Kosmo Sound: “Aunt Sister Lydia” (Single on Zephyrus 2020).

15.Berlin Boom Orchestra: “Leave No One Behind” (Single on Springstoff 2020).

16.Ustad Saami: “True Notes (Happy Morning)”. From “Pakistan Is For The Peaceful” (forthcoming on Glitterbeat).

17.Burak Malcok: “Rebirth” (Single on Gloss Musik 2020).

18.Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids: “Dogon Mysteries”. From “Shaman” (Strut 2020).

19.Tamar Collucutor & Tenesha the Wordsmith: “Yemaya (Vasmant mixmaster)”. From the compilation “Door To The Cosmos” (On The Corner 2020).

20.Rodrigo Leão: “O Metodo” (Single on BMG Spain 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.Ammar 808: “Global Control / Invisible Invasion” (Glitterbeat).

2.Meridian Brothers: “Cumbia Siglo XXI” (Bongo Joe).

3.Mahsa Vahdat: “Enlighten The Night” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted).

4.Various Artists: “Walter Ferguson - 100 Years of Calypso” (DyM-Online).

5.Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids: “Shaman” (Strut).

6.Asian Dub Foundation: “Access Denied” (X Ray Production).

7.Various Artists: “Soul Love Now: The Black Fire Records Story 1975-1993” (Strut).

8.Matthieu Saglio: “El Camino De Los Vientos” (ACT Music).

9.Afel Bocoum: “Linde” (World Circuit).

10. 47Soul: “Semitics” (Cooking Vinyl).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1. Asian Dub Foundation: “Youthquake pt 1 - Greta speaks”. From “Access Denied” (X Ray Production).

2. Samba Negra: “Eberebijara”. From the compilation “La Locura de Machuca” (Analog Africa).

3. Afel Bocoum: “Penda Djiga”. From “Linde” (World Circuit).

4. La Banda Morisca feat. Borke Mundo-Beat: “La choza de Juaniquin”. From “Gitana Mora” (Algazara Producciones).

5. Rheingans Sisters: “The Bones of the World”. From “Receiver” (Bendigedig).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu