Playlist 13.06.2023

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 13.06.2023

On this week’s programme:

Blanco Teta are an Argentinian politically-charged noise-punk quartet.

Chupame El Dedo are a partnership between Meridian Brothers’ Eblis Álvarez and Pedro Ojeda.

WITCH, or We Intend To Cause Havoc, are from Zambia, originally formed in the 1970s.

Bantu are a politically-engaged Nigerian band, led by Ade Bantu, with their origins in Cologne.

Fatoumata Diawara, Malian star, collaborated with Damon Albarn and several guests on the new album.

Les Mamans du Congo are from Brazzaville, with production by Frenchman Rrobin.

Bokanté were created by Michhael League (Snarky Puppy) with Guadeloupe’s Malika Tirolien on vocals.

Baaba Maal has long been a maestro of Senegalese music.

The London-based big band, Balimaya Project, has a new album celebrating black brotherhood in the diaspora.

Bokani Dyer is a South African singer and pianist with a jazz style and philosophical outlook.

Erol Josue is a Haitian vodou spiritualist and musician.

Inna de Yard brings together some of the veterans of Jamaican reggae in an acoustic context.

Matthieu Saglio is a French cellist, based in Spain, with a host of guest vocalists.

Jasdeep Singh Degun, sitar virtuoso, has an EP recorded live in Real World prior to his tour.

Mari Kalkun is an Estonian singer with an album coming next month.

Astrud Gilberto has died. She famously performed with the Getz-Gilberto group in the early bossa nova days.

Check the latest Transglobal World Music Chart here


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Tuesday June 13th. The programme goes out every Tuesday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Blanco Teta: “Shuga”.

2.    Blanco Teta: “Rompe Paga”.  Both from “Rompe Paga” (Bongo Joe 2023).

3.    Chupame El Dedo: “Mi Rehabilitacion” (Single release on Bongo Joe 2023).

4.    WITCH: “Waile”.

5.    WITCH feat. Keith Kabwe: “Nshingilile”.  Both from “Zango” (Desert Daze Sound 2023).

6.    Bantu: “Ten times backwards”. From “What Is Your Breaking Point?” (Soledad Productions 2023).

7.    Fatoumata Diawara feat. Roberto Fonseca: “Blues”.

8.    Fatoumata Diawara feat. Angie Stone: “Somaw”.  Both from “London Ko” (Wagram 2023).

9.    Les Mamans du Congo & Rrobin: “Mpemba” (Single on Jarring Effects 2023).

10.  Bokanté: “Pa domi”. From “History” (forthcoming on Real World).

11.  Baaba Maal: “Casamance Nights”. From “Being” (Marathon 2023).

12.  Balimaya Project feat. Afronaut Zu: “For Aziz”. From the forthcoming album “When The Dust Settles” (New Soil/Jazz re:freshed).

13.  Bokani Dyer: “Ke Nako”

14.  Bokani Dyer: “State of the Nation”. Both from “Radio Sechaba” (Brownswood 2023).

15.  Erol Josue: “Erzulie”. From “Pelerinaj” (Village Hut Records 2023).

16.  Inna de Yard: “Stop that train”.

17.  Inna de Yard: “Groovy situation”. Both from “Family Affair” (Chapter Two 2023).

18.  Matthieu Saglio feat. Natacha Atlas: “Amal”. From “Voices” (ACT 2023).

19.  Jasdeep Singh Degun: “Anomaly”. From the EP “Live at Real World” (Real World 2023).

20.  Mari Kalkun: “Munamäen loomine (The creation of Munamägi)” (from forthcoming album on Real World).

21.  João Gilberto, Astrud Gilberto, Stan Getz: “Corcovado (Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars)”.

22.  João Gilberto, Astrud Gilberto, Stan Getz: “Garota de Ipanema (The Girl from Ipanema)”. Both from “Getz/Gilberto #2 - Recorded Live at Carnegie Hall” (Verve/Polygram 1993).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Recommendations below!


Check out my website:
Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood
Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.  Kayhan Kalhor & Toumani Diabaté: “The Sky Is The Same Colour Everywhere” (Real World).

2.  Lankum: “False Lankum” (Rough Trade).

3.  Sarah-Jane Summers & Juhani Silvola & Sølvstrøk: “Sølvstrøk” (Heilo).


4.  Baaba Maal: “Being” (Marathon).


5.  Ali Farka Touré: “Voyageur” (World Circuit).


6.  Fatoumata Diawara: “London Ko” (Wagram).

7.  Hiram Salsano: “Bucolica” (Hiram Salsano).


8.  Tinariwen: “Amatssou” (Wedge).

9.  Damir Imamovic: “The World And All That It Holds” (Smithsonian Folkways).

10.  Blick Bassy: “Madiba” (InFiné).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.   Sanam: “Bell” (Single from forthcoming album on Mais Um).

2.   Bantu: “Africa for sale”. From “What Is Your Breaking Point?” (Soledad Productions).

3.   Okwy Osadebe: “Igbo Amaka”. From “Igbo Amaka” (Palenque Records).

4.   Yaraka: “Canto all’Allie”. From “Curannera” (Zero Nove Nove).

5.   Rick Deitrick: “Little Tujunga Suite”. From “The Unguitarist - Complete Works 1969-2022” (Tompkins Square).
DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu