Playlist 13.05.2019

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 13.05.2019

On this week's programme:

The Soundway label have a South African compilation coming soon and are also releasing the debut album from Holland’s Mauskovic Dance Band of brothers.

Damon Albarn and the Africa Express crew will be releasing the fruits of their Johannesburg sessions in July.

Brazil’s Liniker e os Caramelows will be in the Sugar Club on the 22nd of the month (and Ed Motta is there on Sat 18th).

Cimarrón are from the eastern plains of Colombia, while Yapunto, based in France, are fronted by Colombia’s Alejandra Charry.

R.I.P Senegalese kora maestro Solo Cissokho, who has died much too young.

Brussels’ Muziekpublique label is a tremendous force for positivity and cross-cultural understanding, as well as nurturing and enabling some very fine music. I talk to two of the people involved and we hear music from their last two releases, as well as some earlier material. Refugees for Refugees are musicians from many countries from Syria to Tibet to Pakistan, all now resident in Belgium.

The final section is an ambient instrumental session with music from two new releases of the tak:til label featuring US guitarists Chris Brokaw and Chuck Johnson, plus Labelle, of La Réunion heritage, and Pascal Gabriel’s Stubbleman road trip project.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday May 13th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Penny Penny: “Shilungu”. Single from forthcoming compilation album “Esa presents Amandla - Music to the People” (Soundway).

2.    Mauskovic Dance Band: “Space Drum Machine”. From forthcoming album “Mauskovic Dance Band” (Soundway).

3.    Jesse Royal feat. Protoje: “LionOrder” (Single on Easy Star 2019).

4.    Africa Express feat. Gruff Rhys, Morena Leraba, Radio 123, Sibot: “Johannesburg”. From forthcoming album “Egoli” (Africa Express).

5.    Liniker E Os Caramelows: “Remonta”. From “Remonta” (Pomm_elo 2016).

***Liniker e os Caramelows play the Sugar Club on Wednesday May 22nd***

6.   Cimarrón: “Zumbajam”.

7.   Cimarrón: “Tonada de la Palomita”. Both from “Orinoco” (Cimarrón 2019).

8.   Yapunto: “Promesa”. From “Yapunto!” (InOuie 2019).

9.   Ellika & Solo: “Baria”. From “Abaraká! Tack!” (Xource 2005).

10. Ellika Solo Rafael: “Nanibaly”. From “Now” (Country & Eastern 2013).

11.  Refugees For Refugees: “Amerli”. From “Amerli” (Muziekpublique 2016).

12.  Gjini Ensemble: “Janines”. From “Voxtra - The Encounter of Vocal Heritage” (Muziekpublique 2017).

     Interview with Lynn Dewitte and Morgane Matthieu of Muziekpublique.

13.  Vardan Hovanissian & Emre Gültekin: “Mawda”. From “Karin” (Muziekpublique 2018).

14.  Refugees For Refugees: “Semki Molem”. From “Amina” (Muziekpublique 2019).

15. Chris Brokaw: “Our Fathers”. From “End of the Night” (tak:til / Glitterbeat 2019).

16. Stubbleman: “Badlands Train”. From “Mountains And Plains” (Crammed 2019).

17. Labelle: “Stase, Différence et Répétition”. From “Orchestre Univers” (Infiné 2019).

18. Chuck Johnson: “Riga Black”. From “Balsams” (tak:til / Glitterbeat 2019).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Follow me on Twitter: @djnigelw
*Facebook page - DJ Nigel Wood

*Recommendations below!


Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1. Rhiannon Giddens, Amythyst Kiah, Leyla McCalla, Allison Russell: “Songs Of Our Native Daughters” (Smithsonian Folkways).


2. Altin Gün: “Gece” (Glitterbeat).


3. Saulo Duarte: “Avante Delírio” (Sterns).


4. Aziz Sahmaoui & University of Gnawa: “Poetic Trance” (Pias).


5. Refugees for Refugees: “Amina” (Muziekpublique).


6. Various Artists: “Nigeria 70 - No Wahala: Highlife, AfroFunk & Juju 1973-1987” (Strut).


7. Minyo Crusaders: “Echoes of Japan” (Mais Um Discos).


8. Hama Sankaré: “Niafunke” (Clermont).     


9. Tiken Jah Fakoly: “Le Monde Est Chaud” (Barclay / Wrasse).


10. Kronos Quartet with Mahsa & Marjan Vahdat: “Placeless” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.  BCUC: “Sikhulekile”. From “The Healing” (Buda).

2.  Rupa & the April Fishes: “Growing Upward”. From “Growing Upward” (Electric Gumbo Radio Music).


3.  Terra Livre: “Greening the Desert”. From “Seeds Roots Flowers & Fruits” (Self-published).

4.  Stubbleman: “Griffith Park”. From “Mountains and Plains” (Crammed).

5.  Chuck Johnson: “Moonstone”. From “Balsams” (tak:til / Glitterbeat).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu