Playlist 12.08.2019

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 12.08.2019

On this week's programme:

Arturo O’Farrill’s album brings many musicians in many genres together to celebrate connections and community across the US/Mexican wall, and elsewhere too.

Mariachi los Camperos release their 10th album, now under the stewardship of Jesus “Chuy” Guzman.

The Belize-based Garifuna Collective, along with Aurelio, carry the torch for their community since Andy Palacio’s death in 2008.

Dona Onete, the grand-dame of Amazonian carimbo and other styles, turns 80 this year.

Peru’s Los Wembler’s de Iquito were formed in 1968 by guitarist Salomón Sanchez Saavedra and feature his five children.

Veteran pianist, Monty Alexander has long combined his Jamaican reggae heritage with jazz, now with the focus on Thelonius Monk.

New Zealand reggae/soul band The Black Seeds were in Dublin last weekend.

Hope Masike is a mbira player and singer from Zimbabwe.

Africa Express, Damon Albarn’s band of adventurers, recorded their new album in South Africa with local musicians.

Tshegue are a duo from Paris and Kinshasa.

Serbian trumpeting maestro Boban Markovic launches his first new release since 2013.

Parno Graszt have been playing Roma music from Hungary for more than 20 years.

Italy’s Orchestra Bailam explore historical links between Genoa and Constantinople.

Širom are an unusual and experimental Slovenian folk trio.

Torgeir Vassvik is a Norwegian Sami musician and composer.

Jambinai are a Korean band whose music could be described as post-rock - appearing in Clonakilty on September 20th.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday August 12th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.   Arturo O’Farrill & the Afro-Latin Jazz Orchestra feat. Ana Tijoux, Chad Lefkowitz-Brown, Frank Cohen: “Somos Sur”.

2.   Arturo O’Farrill & the Afro-Latin Jazz Orchestra feat. Tacho Utrera, Ramón Gutiérrez Hernadez, Fernando Guadarrama Olivera: “El Cascabel”. Both from “Fandango At The Wall: A soundtrack for the United States, Mexico and beyond” (Resilience Music 2018).

3.   Mariachi los Camperos: “Veinte Años”. From “De Ayer Para Siempre” (forthcoming on Smithsonian Folkways).

4.   The Garifuna Collective: “Uraga (Story)”. From “ABAN” (forthcoming on Stonetree).

5.   Dona Onete feat. BNegão: “Musa da Babilônia”. From “Rebujo” (Mais Um 2019).

6.   Los Wembler’s de Iquitos: “Lamento Selvatico”. From “Vision del Ayahuasca” (Barbès 2019).

7.   Monty Alexander: “Misterioso”. From “Wareika Hill (Rastamonk Vibrations)” (MACD 2019).

8.   Black Seeds feat. Israel Starr & Gardna: “Every Part Of Me”. From “The Black Seeds Refabricated: Fabric Remixes & Rarities” (The Black Seeds 2019).

9.   Hope Masike: “Idenga”. From “The Exorcism of a Spinster” (Riverboat / World Music Network 2019).

10. Africa Express: “The River”. From “Egoli” (Africa Express 2019).

11. Tshegue: “M’Benga Bila”. From EP “Telema” (Ekleroshock 2019).

12. Boban Markovic: “Ilka Dili Cocek”.

13. Boban Markovic: “Nana”. Both from “Mrak” (Fonó 2019).

14. Parno Graszt: “Amikor csak tehetem”. From “Már Nem Szédülök” (Fonó 2019).

15. Orchestra Bailam e Canterini Genovesi: “Ninte de bon”. From “Trallalero Levantin” (Felmay 2019).

16. Širom: “Sleight of Hand with a Melting Key”. From “A Universe That Roasts Blossoms For A Horse” (tak:til / Glitterbeat 2019).

17. Vassvik: “Geir Tore Holm”. From “Gakti” (Heilo 2019).

18. Jambinai: “In the woods”. From “Onda” (Bella Union 2019).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Follow me on Twitter: @djnigelw
*Facebook page - DJ Nigel Wood

*Recommendations below!


Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.  Various Artists: “Alefa Madagascar! Salegy, Soukous & Soul from the Red island” (Strut).  


2.  Rhiannon Giddens with Francesco Turrisi: “There Is No Other” (Nonesuch).


3.  Blick Bassy: “1958” (No Format!).


4.  Various Artists: “Vision & Revision: The First 80 Years of Topic Records” (Topic).


5.  Africa Express: “Egoli” (Africa Express).


6.  Roberto Lopez: “Kaleido Strópico” (Curura Musique).


7.  Various Artists: “Jambu e Os Miticos Sons da Amazônia” (Analog Africa).


8.  Dona Onete: “Rebujo” (Mais Um).  


9.  BCUC: “The Healing” (Buda).


10. The Lost Words: “Spell Songs” (Quercus).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.  Tshegue: “Solola”. From the EP “Telema” (Ekleroshock).

2.  Monty Alexander: “Misterioso”. From “Wareika Hill - Rastamonk Vibrations” (MACD).


3.  Jambinai: “In the woods”. From “Onda” (Bella Union).

4.  Debashish Bhattacharya & Friends feat. John Mclaughlin: “A Mystical Morning”. From “The Rough Guide to World Jazz” (World Music Network).

5.  Akpé Motion: “Clo”. From “Migrations 2” (Great Winds).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu