Playlist 10.02.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 10.02.2020

On this week's programme:

Asian Dub Foundation issued their refusal to pick up the debts of Capitalist failure on Brexit Day Jan 31st.

Sunny Jain, Asian-American dhol player and composer, features Haseeb on an anti-racist polemic.

Jiggy, featuring outstanding musicians from Ireland and beyond, put the beat inna trad.

Evritiki Zygia play Thracian folk music enhanced with electronic organ and moog.

Manhu are a band from Yunnan province in South-West China.

Onipa connect Ghana to the London dancefloor.

“Léve Léve” is the first ever compilation of music from São Tomé & Principe.

Tamikrest are from the second wave of Tuareg guitar music - album coming soon.

Majid Bekkas is a Moroccan gnawa master with a taste for exploratory jazz.

Moonlight Benjamin takes Haitian vodou and rocks it hard.

Antibalas are New York’s premier afrobeat champions.

The “Mogadisco” collection is the latest missive from the Somalian vaults.

Mamadou Kelly is guitarist and singer from Niafunké in Mali.

Calypsonian Lord Invader’s 1960 album is one of three January reissues from Smithsonian Folkways.

Centenarian Walter Ferguson’s lost calypso tapes are being reclaimed.

Seu Jorge and Roge made a direct-to-disc in-the-moment recording together.

The trio of James Yorkston, Jon Thorne and Suhail Yusuf Khan play sarangi-infused folk.

Sam Lee sings English tradition with intimacy and elegance.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday February 10th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Asian Dub Foundation: “Can’t pay, won’t pay”. Single from forthcoming album “Access Denied” (X Ray Production).

2.    Sunny Jain feat Haseeb: “Red Brown Black”. From “Wild Wild East” (forthcoming on Smithsonian Folkways).

3.    Jiggy: “Road to Errogie”. From “Hypernova” (Big Beat 2020).

4.    Evritiki Zygia: “5 Nights”. From “Ormenion” (Teranga Beat 2020).

5.    Manhu: “Joys of Drinking”. From “Manhu: Voices of the Sani” (Riverboat / World Music Network 2020).

6.    Onipa: “Fire”. From “We no be machine” (Strut 2020).

7.    Tiny das Neves: “Cladenço pade cluço”. From the compilation “Léve Léve: São Tomé & Principe sounds 70s - 80s” (Bongo Joe 2020).

8.    Tamikrest: “Awnafin”. Single from forthcoming album “Tamotait” (Glitterbeat).

9.    Majid Bekkas: “Bania”. From “Magic Spirit Quartet” (ACT Music & Vision 2020).

10.  Moonlight Benjamin: “Nap Chape”. Single from forthcoming album “Simido” (Ma Case).

11.  Antibalas: “MTTT pt. 1 & 2”. From “Fu Chronicles” (Daptone 2020).

12.  Shimaali & Killer: “Hoobeya”. From the compilation “Mogadisco - Dancing Mogadishu 1972-1990” (Analog Africa 2019).

13.  Mamadou Kelly: “Les Bateaux”. From “Les Bateaux” (Clermont 2019).

14.  Lord Invader: “Carnival”. From “Calypso Travels” (Smithsonian Folkways 1960/2019).

15.  Walter Gavitt Ferguson: “I am the King of Calypso”. From “King of Calypso Limonense - The Legendary Tape Recording Vol. 2” (Bongo Joe 2019).

16.  Seu Jorge & Roge: “Vem Me Salvar”. From “Seu Jorge & Roge - Night Dreamer” (Night Dreamer 2020).

17.  Yorkston Thorne Khan: “Westlin Winds”. From “Navarasa: Nine Emotions” (Domino 2020).

18.  Sam Lee: “Balfanen”. From “Old Wow” (Cooking Vinyl 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.   Roberto Fonseca: “Yesun” (Mack Avenue).


2.  Lina & Raül Refree: “Lina_Raül Refree” (Glitterbeat).


3.  Various Artists: “Mogadisco - Dancing Mogadishu 1972-1990” (Analog Africa).


4.  Kiki Valera: “Vivencias en Clave Cubana” (Origin).


5.  Babani Kone: “Babani Kone” (World Village).


6.  Various Artists: “Léve Léve: São Tomé & Principe sounds 70s - 80s” (Bongo Joe).


7.  Mamadou Kelly: “Les Bateaux” (Clermont).


8.  Blu L’azard: “Bal Poètic” (Ala Bianca).


9.  Go: Organic Orchestra & Brooklyn Raga Massive: “Ragmala - A Garland of Ragas” (Meta Records).   

10. Sam Lee: “Old Wow” (Cooking Vinyl).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.   Antibalas: “Amenawon”. From “Fu Chronicles” (Daptone).

2.   Majid Bekkas: “Aicha”. From “Magic Spirit Quartet” (ACT Music & Vision).

3.   Dennis Brown: “Here I Come / Love & Hate”. From “Satisfaction Feeling DeLuxe Edition” (Tad’s Records).

4.   Tamikrest: “Awnafin”. Single from forthcoming album “Tamotait” (Glitterbeat).

5.   Yorkston Thorne Khan: “Sukhe Phool”. >From “Navarasa: Nine Emotions” (Domino).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu