Playlist 09.11.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 09.11.2020

On this week's programme:

Songhoy Blues, from Mali, rock out with optimism.

Mdou Moctar, Nigerien guitarist, was an early pioneer of Tuareg rock ’n’ roll.

Izouran N-Sahara are Tuaregs from Southern Morocco with an album to come.

Alogte Oho is a Ghanaian gospel groove merchant with his Sounds of Joy.

Franck Biyong has recorded a tribute to Manu Dibango and Tony Allen.

Les Mamans du Congo are a Brazzaville feminist collective, produced by Rrobin.

The Star Feminine Band are young women and girls from Benin on a music education initiative.

Lucas Nwananga, born in Yorkshire, has a passion for Soweto jive.

Modeste Hugues and Kilema are veterans of Madagascan culture playing guitar and marovany.

Urban Village are a Soweto quartet steeped in the history and culture of their homeplace.

Kaito Winse is a griot and multi-instrumentalist from Burkina Faso based in Brussels.

Shooglenifty are long-running Scottish folk fusion band.

Xabier Diaz is Galician roots musician and member of Berrogüetto.

Gabriel Bismut, French fiddler, collaborates with Italian accordionist Maurizio Minardi.

Kronos Quartet celebrate the legacy of Pete Seeger.

Joachim Cooder releases his second album inspired by the music of Uncle Dave Macon.

Zedashe are a Georgian choir led by women.

Syrian exile Wassim Mukdad leads a trio of oud, clarinet and percussion.

Sumeet Anand Pandey is a singer of the ancient Hindustani classical style of dhrupad music.

Lin Shicheng was a Chinese master of the pipa lute, and Gao Hong is his student.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday November 9th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.Songhoy Blues: “Badala”. From “Optimisme” (Transgressive 2020).

2.Mdou Moctar: “Chismiten” (Single on Matador 2020).

3.Izouran N-Sahara: “Tudrt N-Imatwn”. From the compilation “Global Riddims 3” (NYP Records 2020).

4.Alogte Oho & His Sounds Of Joy: “Mam Yinne Wa”. From “Mam Yinne Wa” (Philophon 2019).

5.Franck Biyong: “Oladipo”. From “Radio Masoda” (forthcoming on Afrolectric).

6.Les Mamans Du Congo & Rrobin: “Mbila”. From “Les Mamans Du Congo & Rrobin “ (Jarring Effects 2020).

7.Star Feminine Band: “La Musique” (Single from forthcoming album on Born Bad).

8.Lucas Nwananga & his Band: “Isobho Lethu”. From “Back To Soweto” (Umsakazo 2020).

9.Modeste Hugues & Kilema: “Ala Maintso”. From “Ala Maintso / Green World - Songs from Madagascar” (ARC 2020).

10.Urban Village: “Izivunguvungu ”. From the EP “Ubaba” and forthcoming album “Udondolo” (No Format!).

11.Kaito Winse: “Banga”. From “Kaladounia” (Rebel Up 2020).

12.Shooglenifty: “Hunting For Angus”. From “Acid Croft Vol. 9” (Shoogle 2020).

13.Xabier Díaz & Adufeiras De Salitre: “Botei un ai!”. From “As Catedrais Silenciadas” (Xabier Diaz 2020).

14.Gabriel Bismut & Maurizio Minardi: “Le Coq Baroque”. From “Le Chat Brel” (AMA Recording 2020).

15.Kronos Quartet with Lee Knight: “Garbage”. From “Long Time Passing: Kronos Quartet & Friends celebrate Pete Seeger” (Smithsonian Folkways 2020).

16.Joachim Cooder: “Oh Lovin Babe”. From “Over That Road I’m Bound” (Nonesuch 2020).

17.Zedashe: “Kakhuri Maqruli” (Wedding song). From “Silver Sanctuary” (Electric Cowbell 2020).

18.Mukdad Rothenberg Lankow: “We Cannot Leave”. From “In The Wake Of Memories” (Clermont 2020).

19.Sumeet Anand Pandey: “Raga Bhairav - Sargam ki Bandish”. From “Morning Meditation - Darbhanga Dhrupad Tradition” (Naxos World / ARC 2020).

20.Lin Shicheng & Gao Hong: “Moonlight over the Spring River”. From “Hunting Eagles Catching Swans” (ARC 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.Alogte Oho & His Sounds Of Joy: “Mam Yinne Wa” (Philophon).

2.Meridian Brothers: “Cumbia Siglo XXI” (Bongo Joe).

3.Ann O’aro: “Longoz” (Buda Musique).

4.Various Artists: “African Electronic Diaspora - Black Lives Matter” (Rebel Up Records).

5.Joachim Cooder: “Over That Road I’m Bound” (Nonesuch).

6.Ceferina Banquez: “No Me Dejen Sola!” (OM Producciones).

7.Various Artists: “Door To The Cosmos” (On The Corner).

8.Kronos Quartet: “Long Time Passing: Kronos Quartet & Friends celebrate Pete Seeger” (Smithsonian Folkways).

9.Afel Bocoum: “Linde” (World Circuit).

10. Ustad Saami: “Pakistan Is For The Peaceful” (Glitterbeat).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1. Songhoy Blues: “Korfo”. From “Optimisme” (Transgressive).

2. Alogte Oho & His Sounds Of Joy: “Yu Ya Yumma”. From “Mam Yinne Wa” (Philophon).

3. Lo’Jo: “Pas Pareil”. From “Transe de Papier” (LoJo).

4. Kiko Dinucci: “Foi Batendo o Pé Na Terra”. From “Rastilho” (Mais Um).

5. Sandeep Das & the HUM Ensemble: “Virah - The Longing”. From “Delhi To Damascus” (In A Circle Records).
DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu