Playlist 09.04.2018 - WEBSITE X5 UNREGISTERED VERSION - DJ NigelWood

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 09.04.2018

On this week's programme:

The Turbans are a multicultural UK-based band, spawned from backpacker connections in Nepal.

“Aïta” is a rural Moroccan folk music of love, loss and community.

Osloob is a Palestinian rapper in collaboration with French-Syrian flautist Naïssam Jalal.

47 Soul is a quartet of Palestinian origins, based in London.

Sierra Leonian, Janka Nabay has died; “Build Music” was the most recent example of his electronic bubu style.

Seun Kuti will be in the Sugar Club for two nights at the end of April with Fela’s Egypt 80 band.

Orquesta Akokán is big-band mambo from Havana.

Sonido Gallo Negro are a psychedelic Mexican cumbia outfit.

Gitkin plays a catchy hybrid Americana with Latin, and even North African, hues.

Stratman is Stratos Aloimonos, Greek producer and DJ.

Beyond The Pale are from Toronto, combining folk and bluegrass with klezmer and Balkan.

Koum Tara are a multicultural group embellishing Algerian songs of Sid Ahmed Belksier with jazz and strings.

Imamyar Hasanov is an Azerbaijani master of the kemenche fiddle.

Dom Flemons is a member of the Carolina Chocolate Drops ensemble, dedicated to exploring the black influence in American country music.

Britt Pernille Froholm is a top Norwegian Hardanger fiddle player.

The Gloaming have preserved for posterity their record-breaking National Concert Hall run.

Anna and Elizabeth coat their new collection of Appalachian song in ambience and atmosphere.



Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday April 9th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.   The Turbans: “Aman”. From “The Turbans” (Six Degrees 2018).

2.   Zarhouni Brothers: “Kasi F’rid”. From “Aïta: Sheikhates & Shioukhs of the Aïta - Anthology” (10 CDs - Charles Cros / Atlas Azawan 2017).

3.   Osloob & Naïssam Jalal: “Kan Fi Sheitan”. From “Al Akhareen” (Les Couleurs du Son / L’Autre 2018).

4.   47 Soul: “Move Around”. From “Balfron Promise” (Cooking Vinyl 2018).

5.   Janka Nabay: “Game Ova”. From “Build Music” (Luaka Bop 2017).

6.   Seun Kuti & Egypt 80: “Last Revolutionary”. From “Black Times” (Strut 2018).

***Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 play The Sugar Club on Fri 27th & Sat 28th April***

7.   Orquesta Akokán: “Mambo Rapidito”.

8.   Orquesta Akokán: “Yo Soy Para Ti”.  Both from “Orquesta Akokán” (Daptone 2018).

9.   Sonido Gallo Negro: “Cumbia Ishtar”. From “Mambo Cósmico” (Glitterbeat 2018).

10. Gitkin: “Yama”. From “Five Star Motel” (Wonderwheel 2018).

11. Stratman feat. Thanassis Vassilopoulos, Vahan Galstyan & Alexandros Tsamis: “Innocence, Alan’s Dream”. From “Borders of Paradise” (Ankh Productions 2017).

12. Beyond The Pale: “Atlas Revolt”.

13. Beyond The Pale: “Ruckus in Ralja”.  Both from “Ruckus” (Borealis 2017).

14. Koum Tara: “Ya Kalek Lechia”. From “Kom Tara - Chaabi, Jazz & Strings” (Odradek 2018).

15. Imamyar Hasanov & Pezhham Akhavass: “Meditation”. From “Then” (Rahgozar Haft Eghlim 2017).

16. Sonia Karakach: “Anadol Yosmasi”. From the compilation “Nostalgique Armenie - Love Songs, Songs of Hope, Exile and Improvisations 1942-1952” (Buda 2018).

17. Dom Flemons: “Going Down The Road Feelin’ Bad”.

18. Dom Flemons: “Old Chisholm Trail”. Both from “Dom Flemons presents Black Cowboys” (Smithsonian Folkways 2018).

19. Britt Pernille Froholm: “Reinlenderkule frå Ytre-Nordfjord”. From “Nordfjord” (Mere 2017).

20. The Gloaming: “The Sailor’s Bonnet”. From “The Gloaming Live at the NCH” (Real World 2018).

21. Anna & Elizabeth: “Irish Patriot”. From “The Invisible Comes To Us” (Smithsonian Folkways 2018).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-backlink to listen back to the programme.

*Follow me on Twitter: @djnigelw
*Facebook page - DJ Nigel Wood

*Recommendations below!


Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1. Monsieur Doumani: “Angathin” (Monsieur Doumani).


2. The Gloaming: “The Gloaming Live at the NCH” (Real World).


3. Seun Kuti & Egypt 80: “Black Times” (Strut).


4. Park Jiha: “Communion” (tak:til / Glitterbeat).


5. Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita: "Soar" (ARC).


6. WoWaKin: “Kraj Za Miastem” (Studio BABA).


7. Anna & Elizabeth: “The Invisible Comes To Us” (Smithsonian Folkways).


8. Djénéba & Fousco: “Kayeba Khasso” (438 / Lusafrica).         


9. Hugh Masekela: “Masekela ’66 - ’76” (Wrasse).


10. 47Soul: “Balfron Promise” (Cooking Vinyl).


Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.  Seun Kuti feat. Carlos Santana: “Black Times”. From “Black Times” (Strut).

2.  Koum Tara: “Ya Kalek Lechia”. From “Kom Tara - Chaabi, Jazz & Strings” (Odradek).

3.  The Gloaming: “The Sailor’s Bonnet”. From “The Gloaming Live at the NCH” (Real World).


4.  Spiro: “The Copper Suite” (Single release on Real World).


5.  Mircan Kaya: “Onzeli Nanni / Lullaby of Cradle”. From “Chinka” (UCM 2018).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu