Playlist 09.01.2024 - DJ NigelWood

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 09.01.2024

On this week’s programme:

BCUC are an exciting live band from Soweto releasing their fourth album.

African Head Charge released an African travelogue, produced by Adrian Sherwood.

Moussa Tchingou is a 30 year-old Tuareg guitarist from Niger.

Babsy Konate is a keyboardist and producer from Gao in northern Mali.

Andal Sukabe are a band of siblings from the Wodaabe peoples of Niamey, Niger.

Aziza Brahim is a Sahrawi singer-songwriter and activist who grew up in exile.

Dengue Fever are a Los Angeles band who draw from Cambodian styles of the 1960s and 70s.

Rhiannon Giddens is an Irish-based American, previously a member of the Carolina Chocolate Drops.

Sunny War is a folk-blues guitarist and songwriter from Nashville.

Muireann Bradley is a remarkable 17-year old singer-guitarist from Donegal.

Roehind, based in LA, makes electronic Celtic music.

Titanic are the combination of Mabe Fratti, Guatemalan cellist/singer, and Mexican musician Hector Tosta.

Lina has a fado album on the way, produced by Justin Adams and featuring the poetry of Camões.

John Francis Flynn is part of a new wave of Irish folk artists.

You Are Wolf is Kerry Andrew, composer and novelist from the UK.

Brigid Mae Power, Irish folk singer-songwriter, had a fourth album released last year.

Check the latest Transglobal World Music Chart here


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Tuesday January 09th. The programme goes out every Tuesday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    BCUC (Bantu Continua Uhuru Consciousness): “Millions of us (part 1)”.

2.    BCUC: “Thonga Lami (Cosmic LP mix)”.  Both from “Millions Of Us” (On The Corner 2023).

3.    African Head Charge: “Accra Electronica”.

4.    African Head Charge: “A Bad Attitude”.  Both from “A Trip To Bolgatanga” (On-U Sound 2023).

5.    Moussa Tchingou: “Derhan”. From the EP “Tamiditine” (Sahel Sounds 2023).

6.    Babsy Konate: “Tounga”. From “Tounga” (Sahel Sounds 2023).

7.    Andal Sukabe: “Debbo” (Single on Sahel Sounds 2023).

8.    Aziza Brahim: “Thajliba”. Single from forthcoming album “Mawja” (Glitterbeat).

9.    Dengue Fever: “Silver fish”.

10.  Dengue Fever: “Room 720”.  Both from “Ting Mong” (Tuk Tuk Records 2023).

11.  Rhiannon Giddens: “Louisiana Man”.

12.  Rhiannon Giddens: “Hen in the Foxhouse”. Both from “You’re The One” (Nonesuch 2023).

13.  Sunny War feat. Dave Rawlings: “Shelter & Storm”. From “Anarchist Gospel” (New West Records 2023).

14.  Muireann Bradley: “Police dog blues”. From “I Kept These Old Blues” (Tompkins Square 2023).

15.  Roehind: “Cumha Sheathain”. From “Buile” (Roehind 2023).

16.  Titanic: “Te evite”. From “Vidrio” (Unheard of hope 2023).

17.  Lina: “Desamor”. >From the forthcoming album “Fado Camões” (Galileo).

18.  John Francis Flynn: “The Zoological Gardens”.

19.  John Francis Flynn: “The Lag Song”.  Both from “Look Over The Wall, See The Sky” (River Lea 2023).

20.  You Are Wolf feat. Sam Lee: “HerneAbbots Bromley Horn Dance”.

21.  You Are Wolf: “Winter Solstice”.  Both from “Hare Hunter Moth Ghost” (Firecrest 2023).

22.  Brigid Mae Power: “Counting Down”.

23.  Brigid Mae Power: “I Must Have Been Blind”. Both from “Dream From The Deep Well” (Fire Records 2023).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Recommendations below!


Check out my website:
Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood
Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.  BCUC (Bantu Continua Uhuru Consciousness): “Millions Of Us” (On The Corner).

2.  Babsy Konate: “Tounga” (Sahel Sounds).

3.  Dengue Fever: Ting Mong” (Tuk Tuk Records).


4.  Emilia Lajunen: “Vainaan perua: Satavuotinen sakka (Legacy Of The Dead: Deep In The Dregs)” (Nordic Notes/CPL-Musicgroup).


5.  Muireann Bradley: “I Kept These Old Blues” (Tompkins Square).


6.  Mito y Comadre: “Guajirando” (ZZK Records).

7.  Rhiannon Giddens: “You’re The One” (Nonesuch).


8.  Cinder Well: “Cadence” (Free Dirt).

9.  John Francis Flynn: “Look Over The Wall, See The Sky” (River Lea).

10.  Thandi Ntuli with Carlos Niño: “Rainbow Revisited” (International Anthem).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.   Sam Galbi: “Dakchi Hani” (Single on Bongo Joe).

2.   Les Amazones d’Afrique feat. Mamani Keïta & Fafa Ruffino: “Flaws’. From “Musow Danse” (forthcoming on Real World).

3.   Onipa: “Joy”. From “Off The Grid” (Real World).

4.   Aristides Ramirez: “Los lanbones”. From The forthcoming compilation “Merengue Tipico: Nueva Generacion” (Bongo Joe).

5.   Rashid Khan: “Raga Jogkauns”. From “Reflection” (Sense World).
DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu