Playlist 07.12.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 07.12.2020

On this week's programme:

Liraz is an Israeli singer exploring her Iranian heritage.

OKAN are a Toronto female-led band with an Afro-Cuban jazz and roots repertoire.

Ayom are a multicultural band based in Barcelona and led by Brazilian Jabu Morales.

Tom Zé is revered Brazilian auteur - a veteran of Tropicalia days.

Lo’Jo are a longstanding French band of unique status and poetic vision.

Mogollar were the originators of Anatolian folk-rock back in the 1970s.

3,14 are the trio of Éfren Lopez, Ciro Montanari and Jordi Prats, with influences from the Silk Road.

Derya Türkan and Sokratis Sinopoulos are old friends, on Turkish kemenche and Greek lyra respectively.

Duo Bottasso are the Bottasso brothers, Simone and Nicolo, with two young Italian singers.

Norwegian singer Heidi Torsvig and US producer Lazerus Winter have created an atmospheric trip through the Norwegian fjords.

Alexandrae are a Catalonian duo, recorded in churches and studio, much of it sung in Latin.

Michal Noga is a Slovakian musician who has researched all the various traditions of his country and the early masters.

WoWaKin are a trio of young Polish traditionalists following in the footsteps.

Leyla McCalla reissues her 2014 album paying homage to black consciousness poet Langston Hughes.

Joachim Cooder, with his mbira, explores the catalogue of country hero Uncle Dave Macon.

Next week will be Part 1 of my 2020 Highlights, Part 2 the following week.

Check the latest Transglobal World Music Chart here:


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday December 7th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.Liraz: “Injah”.

2.Liraz: “Nafas”.Both from “Zan” (Glitterbeat 2020).

3.OKAN: “Mercedes”. From “Espiral” (Lulaworld 2020).

4.Ayom: “Cravo e menta”. From “Ayom Manifesto” (Amplifica 2020).

5.Tom Zé: “A Baba”. From “Raridades” (Warner 2020).

6.Lo’Jo: “Transe de Papier”. From “Transe de Papier” (Lojo 2020).

7.Mogollar: “Selvi Boylum Al Yazmalim”. From “Anatolian Sun parts 1 & 2” (Night Dreamer 2020).

8.3,14: “Qazzaz”. From “Bombyx Mori” (Worlds within Worlds 2020).

9.Derya Turkan & Sokratis Sinopoulos: “Izmir”. From “Soundplaces” (Seyir Muzik 2020).

10.Duo Bottasso: “Ka di ka di”. From “Linguamadre - Il Canzoniere di Pasolini” (Duo Bottasso 2020).

11.Heidi Torsvig & Lazerus Winter: “Movement 1 - Presence”. From “Hidden Soul of The Fjords” (Naxos World 2020).

12.Alexandrae: “Tempelhof”. From “Gaudeamus Omnes” (Segell Microscopi 2020).

13.Michal Noga Band: “Dusikova fujara”. From “Stopy” (Michal Noga Band 2020).

14.WoWaKin: “Kalimeczka”. From “Wiazanka” (BABA Studio 2020).

15.Leyla Mccalla: “Manman Mwen”.

16.Leyla McCalla: “Love Again Blues”. From “Vari-Colored Songs” (Smithsonian Folkways 2014/2020).

17.Joachim Cooder: “When the train comes along”. From “Over That Road I’m Bound” (Nonesuch 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.Ayom: “Ayom Manifesto” (Amplifica).

2.Lo’Jo: “Transe de Papier” (LoJo).

3.Les Mamans du Congo & Rrobin: “Les Mamans du Congo & Rrobin” (Jarring Effects).

4.Madou Sidiki Diabaté: “Djigui”. From “Kora Electrique” (Amarrass).

5.Joachim Cooder: “Over That Road I’m Bound” (Nonesuch).

6.Liraz: “Zan” (Glitterbeat).

7.Sandeep Das & The HUM Ensemble: “Delhi To Damascus” (In a Circle Records).

8.Kronos Quartet: “Long Time Passing: Kronos Quartet & Friends celebrate Pete Seeger” (Smithsonian Folkways).

9.Afel Bocoum: “Linde” (World Circuit).

10. Alexandræ: “Gaudeamus Omnes” (Segell Microscopi).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1. Alostmen feat Medikal: “Do Good”. From “Teach Me” (Strut).

2. Kokoroko: “Baba Ayoola” (Single - Kokoroko).

3. Errol Linton: “No Entry Blues”. From “No Entry” (Errol Linton).

4. Dezron Douglas & Brandee Younger: “You make me feel brand new”. Single from the forthcoming album “Force Majeure”on International Anthem).

5. Derya Türkan & Sokratis Sinopoulos: “Mitili / Midili”. From “Soundplaces” (Seyir Muzik).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu