Playlist 07.06.2021

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 07.06.2021

On this week's programme:

Sons of Kemet are a British jazz-funk band, led by Shabaka Hutchings, with a powerful BLM statement.

Virginia native Plunky and the Oneness of Juju band were musical activists of the ’70s and ’80s.

Soulful Femme are a female soul duo from Pittsburgh.

Van the man duets with Chris Farlowe on a track from his new 2CD set.

Mdou Moctar, aka Mahamadou Souleymane, is the Tuareg guitarist from Agadez on his sixth album.

BLK JKS are a contemporary and eclectic art-rock band from South Africa, formed in 2000.

Dobet Gnahoré is acclaimed singer and dancer from Côte D’Ivoire, now based in France.

Muita Kaballa Power Ensemble are an eight-piece afro-jazz-funk band from Cologne.

The Eboni Band, also from Côte D’Ivoire, were part of an African-Motown dialogue in 1980.

Derya Yilidrim and her group, based in Berlin, have a contemporary take on Anatolian tradition.

Berlin’s Habibi Funk label are releasing a new compilation of treasures from the Arabic archives.

Atine are a female Iranian band with traditional instruments, viola da gamba, and voices.

dal:um are a Korean duo on the gayageum and geomungo, based in Seoul.

Russell Potter, solo guitarist, issued two albums in 1979 and 1981, now re-released on Tompkins Square.

Fapy Lafertin is an esteemed Belgian guitarist playing in an eclectic gypsy-jazz style.

Eva Quartet are Bulgarian voices deriving from the celebrated Le Mystere des Voix Bulgares.

The Norwegian KKV label hosts some new female Palestinian singers.

Bagga Khan is a folk singer from the Manganiyar community of Western Rajasthan.

The Breath pay tribute to the late singer-songwriter Karen Dalton on the 50th anniversary of her “In My Own Time” album.

Check the latest Transglobal World Music Chart here


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday June 7th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.Sons Of Kemet: “Field Negus”.

2.Sons Of Kemet: “In Remembrance of Those Fallen”. Both from “Black To The Future” (Impulse! Records 2021).

3.Plunky & Oneness of Juju: “(Family Tree) Make a Change”. From “Make A Change” (Strut 1977/2021).

4.Soulful Femme: “Trouble”. From “It Is Well With My Soul” (Skydog Studios 2021).

5.Van Morrison feat. Chris Farlowe: “Big Lie”. From “Latest Record Project Vol. 1” (Exile/BMG 2021).

6.Mdou Moctar: “Afrique Victime”. Both from Afrique Victime” (Matador 2021).

7.BLK JKS: “Maiga Mali Mansa Musa”. From “Abantu - Before Humans” (Glitterbeat 2021).

8.Dobet Gnahoré: “Yakané”. From “Couleur” (Cumbancha 2021).

9.Muito Kaballa Power Ensemble: “Don’t go too far”. From “Mamari” (Rebel Up 2021).

10.Eboni Band: “Sing A Happy Song (Shake It Down)”. Single from forthcoming album “Eboni Band” (We Are Busy Bodies).

11.Derya Yilidrim & Gruo Simsek: “Haydar Haydar”. Single from forthcoming album “Dost 1” (Bongo Joe).

12.Douaa: “Haditoui”. From the forthcoming compilation “Habibi Funk 015 - An eclectic selection of music from the Arab world, part 2” (Habibi Funk).

13.Atine: “Yâri”. From “Persiennes d’Iran” (Accords Croisés 2021).

14.dal:um: “Tal”. From “Similar & Different” (forthcoming on tak:til / Glitterbeat).

15.Russell Potter: “The Half-Moon Window”. From “Neither Here Nor There” (Tompkins Square 1981/2021).

16.Fapy Lafertin New Quartet: “Torontoi emlek”. From “Atlantico” (Fremeaux 2021).

17.Eva Quartet: “Yova”. From “Minka” (Riverboat / World Music Network 2021).

18.Hanin Alijleh: “Shou Mkhabili (What’s in store for me)”. From the compilation “Henna - Young Female Voices from Palestine” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted 2021).

19.Bagga Khan: “Ber Chalya Mera Bhai”. From “Bhajan” (Amarrass 2021).

20.The Breath: “Remembering Mountains”. From the single “Something on Your Mind/Remembering Mountains” (Real World 2021).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Recommendations below!


Check out my website:
Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood
Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.Brain Damage meets Big Youth: “Beyond the Blue” (Jarring Effects).

2.Paolo Angeli: “Jar’a” (AnMa ReR Megacorp).

3.Dobet Gnahoré: “Couleur” (Cumbancha).

4.Sons of Kemet: “Black To The Future” (Impulse!).

5.Toumani Diabaté and the London Symphony Orchestra: “Korolen” (World Circuit).

6.Ballaké Sissoko: “Djourou” (No Format!).

7.Kasai Allstars: “Black Ants Always Fly Together, One Bangle Makes No Sound” (Crammed).

8.Piers Faccini: “Shapes Of The Fall” (No Format!).

9.Balkan Taksim: “Disko Telegraf” (Buda Musique).

10. Canzoniere Grecanico Salentino: “Meridiana” (Ponderosa).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.Balimaya Project: “Soninka Patronba”. Single from forthcoming album “Wolo So” (Jazz Re:freshed).

2.Orchestra Tout Puissant Marcel Duchamp: “So Many Things (To Feel Guilty About)”. From forthcoming album “We’re OK. But We’re Lost Anyway” (Bongo Joe).

3.Manzanita y Su Conjunto: “No Me Marchare”. Single from forthcoming album “Manzanita Y Su Conjunto - Trujillo, Peru 1971-1974” (Analog Africa).

4.Natacha Atlas: “The Outer”. From the EP “The Inner & The Outer” (Wise Music Publishing).

5.dal:um: “The Waves”. From “Similar & Different” (tak:til / Glitterbeat).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu