Playlist 06.06.2023

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 06.06.2023

On this week’s programme:

Celebrating the music of four departed musicians who left us in May: Macedonian sax player Ferus Mustafov, the female member of Brazilian psychedelicists Os Mutantes, Rita Lee, Skatalites saxophonist Lester Sterling, and founder member of popular Moroccan band Jil Jilala, Moulay Tahar Asbahani.

Vieux Farka Touré plays two gigs in Dublin this weekend - the date postponed from February in the Button Factory, and a second one in the Sugar Club.

Tinariwen bring in country influences on the new album with production from Daniel Lanois.

Eblis Álvarez casts his spell over a collaboration with Swiss duo Cyril Cyril, and Chupame El Dedo, his partnership with Pedro Ojeda.

Eliades Ochoa is the veteran Buena Vista troubadour.

Faizal Mostrixx is a Ugandan afro-futurist producer.

Talking Spirits were formerly the James Lascelles Quartet, based in London.

Bokani Dyer is a South African singer and pianist.

The Total Refreshment Centre is a hub of forward-thinking music and culture in London.

Malian singer, Rokia Koné, is working with Irish producer Jacknife Lee.

Iranian-Kurdish kamancheh virtuoso, Kayhan Kalhor, duets with kora supremo Toumani Diabaté.

Another kora master, Seckou Keita, has recorded with the BBC Concert Orchestra and cellist Abel Selaocoe.

Scotland meets Scandinavia in the form of Sarah-Jane Summers, Juhani Silvola and Norway’s Sølvstrøk.

Check the latest Transglobal World Music Chart here


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Tuesday June 6th. The programme goes out every Tuesday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Ferus Mustafov: “Revisko Oro”. From the compilation “Princes Amongst Men - Journeys with Gypsy Musicians” (Asphalt Tango 2008).

2.    Vieux Farka Touré & Khruangbin: “Tango Barra”. From “Ali” (Dead Oceans 2022).

3.    Vieux Farka Touré: “Flany Konare”.

4.    Vieux Farka Touré: “Ngala Kaourene”. Both from “Les Racines” (World Circuit 2022).

***Vieux Farka Touré plays the Button Factory on Friday 9th, and the Sugar Club on Sunday 11th***

5.    Tinariwen: “Tenere Den”. From “Amatssou” (Wedge 2023).

6.    Os Mutantes: “A Minha Menina”.

7.    Os Mutantes: “Ando Meio Desligado”. From “World Psychedelic Classics 1: Brazil - Os Mutantes: Everything Is Possible!” (Luaka Bop 1999).

8.    Chupame El Dedo: “No seas malo” (Single release on Bongo Joe 2023).

9.    Cyril Cyril & Meridian Brothers: “Diablos de Chuao” (Single on Bongo Joe 2023).

10.  Eliades Ochoa: “Vamos a Alegrar El Mundo”. From “Guajiro” (World Circuit 2023).

11.  The Skatalites: “Latin Goes Ska”. From “The Skatalites & Friends - Phoenix City” (Trojan 2004).

12.  The Skatalites: “Lester’s Mood”. From “From Paris With Love” (Wrasse 2002).

13.  Jil Jilala: “Baba Aadi”. From “The Rough Guide to the music of Morocco” (World Music Network 2004).

14.  Faizal Mostrixx: “Muzukulu”. From “Mutations” (Glitterbeat 2023).

15.  Talking Spirits: “As I was walking”. From “Hands” (Zephyrus 2023).

16.  Bokani Dyer: “Move on”. From “Radio Sechaba” (Brownswood 2023).

17.  Neue Grafik feat. Brother Portrait: “Black”. From the compilation “Transmissions From Total Refreshment Centre” (Blue Note 2023).

18.  Rokia Koné & Jacknife Lee: “Fanga” (Single on Real World 2023).

19.  Kayhan Kalhor & Toumani Diabaté: “Joyful Sun”. From “The Sky Is The Same Colour Everywhere” (Real World 2023).

20.  Seckou Keita & The BBC Concert Orchestra with Abel Selaocoe, Davide Mantovani & Suntou Susso: “L’Epopée Mande-Arab”. From “African Rhapsodies” (Claves Records 2023).

21.  Sarah-Jane Summers & Juhani Silvola & Sølvstrøk: “In dispraise of whisky”. From “Sølvstrøk” (Heilo 2023).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Recommendations below!


Check out my website:
Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood
Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

 1.  Kayhan Kalhor & Toumani Diabaté: “The Sky Is The Same Colour Everywhere” (Real World).

2.  Lankum: “False Lankum” (Rough Trade).

3.  Sarah-Jane Summers & Juhani Silvola & Sølvstrøk: “Sølvstrøk” (Heilo).


4.  Baaba Maal: “Being” (Marathon).


5.  Ali Farka Touré: “Voyageur” (World Circuit).


6.  Fatoumata Diawara: “London Ko” (Wagram).

7.  Hiram Salsano: “Bucolica” (Hiram Salsano).


8.  Tinariwen: “Amatssou” (Wedge).

9.  Damir Imamovic: “The World And All That It Holds” (Smithsonian Folkways).

10.  Blick Bassy: “Madiba” (InFiné).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1. Rumbaristas: “Palanca”. From “Malabares” (Via Lactea).

2. Jantra: “Gedima”. Single from forthcoming album (Ostinato).

3. Hiram Salsano: “Otreviva”. From “Bucolica” (Hiram Salsano).

4. Desire Marea: “Rah”. From “On The Romance Of Being” (Mute).

5. Blick Bassy: “Hola me”. From “Madiba” (No Format!).
DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu