Playlist 05.10.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 05.10.2020

On this week's programme:

Les Mamans du Congo are a feminist collective from Brazzaville with an album on the way.

Dandana are a Netherlands-based band with members from Senegal and Gambia.

Djely Tapa is Malian-Canadian singer and award-winner, Sountougoumba Diarra.

Andy One is a Malawian keyboardist and producer, featured in a new “Digital Indigenous” series.

Samora is a Suriname-Dutch reggae singer, one of the voices on a new all-female riddim sampler.

Thaba features the late South African singer Khusi Seremane and US producer Gabriel Cyr.

Rebel Up Records have a cutting-edge compilation raising money for organisations connected with Black Lives Matter.

The On The Corner label has a sumptuous new collection of its left-field uncategorisable wares.

Baba Zula have recorded their some of their Turkish psych-grooves live and direct to disc.

Analog Africa’s new excursion is the quirky Colombian sound of Rafael Machuca’s ’70s label.

Mateus Aleluia hails from Bahia, playing music influenced by Afro styles and by candomblé.

Ann O’aro is a young singer from La Réunion, combining elements of maloya with fierce songwriting.

Pascal Diatta is the late unique Senegalese guitarist, whose 1987 album, long unavailable, is now released digitally.

Ustad Saami is perhaps the last remaining singer of an old and unique style of microtonal qawwali in Pakistan.

Kuljit Bhamra is the British composer, producer and tabla player with many distinguished collaborations.

The London Festival of Korean Music kicks off live and online on 30th October -


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday October 5th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.Les Mamans du Congo: “Boum”. From the forthcoming album “Bordel de Rap” (Jarring Effects).

2.Dandana: “Free The System”. From “Free The System” (Rebel Up Records 2020).

3.Djely Tapa: “Départ pour lune”. From “Barokan” (Disques Nuits d’Afrique 2020).

4.Andy One: “Imba Africa”. From “Digital Indigenous #1: Imba Africa” (1000 HZ 2020).

5.Samora: “Free Up”. From “Female Reggae Voices - Riddim Album” (Staudenmann 2020).

6.Thaba: “Confided”. From “Eyes Rest Their Feet” (Soundway 2020).

7.King L. Man: “SMELK (A state of emergency)”.

8.Nkom Bivoué: “C’est Lancé”. Both from the compilation “African Electronic Diaspora - Black Lives Matter” (Rebel Up Records 2020).

9.Dengue Dengue Dengue: “Semillero - Nicola Cruz remix”. From the compilation “Door To The Cosmos” (On The Corner 2020).

10.Baba Zula: “4 Nal”.

11.Baba Zula: “Tavus Havasi (Peacockmood)”.Both from “Hayvan Gibi” (Night Dreamer 2020).

12.El Grupo D’Abelard: “Otro perro con ese hueso”.

13.Conjunto Barbacoa: “Wabali”.Both from the compilation “La Locura de Machuco” (forthcoming on Analog Africa).

14.Mateus Aleluia feat. Thiago França: “Canta Sabiá”. From “Olorum” (Tratore 2020).

15.Ann O’aro: “Pik Drwat”. From “Longoz” (Buda Musique 2020).

16.Pascal Diatta & Sona Mané: “Bougna Oudistilé”. From “Simnadé +4” (Ghosts From The Basement 2020).

17.Ustad Saami: “Prayer for a saint” (edit). From “Pakistan Is For The Peaceful” (Glitterbeat 2020).

18.Kuljit Bhamra: “Tabla Modale Part 1”. From “Essence of RagaTala” (ARC 2020).

19.Black String: “Sureña”. From “Best Of The K-Music Festival” (Korean Cultural Centre 2020).

***London’s Festival of Korean Music takes place live and online from Oct 30th to Nov 16th - ***

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.Ammar 808: “Global Control / Invisible Invasion” (Glitterbeat).

2.Meridian Brothers: “Cumbia Siglo XXI” (Bongo Joe).

3.Mahsa Vahdat: “Enlighten The Night” (Kirkelig Kulturverksted).

4.Various Artists: “African Electronic Diaspora - Black Lives Matter” (Rebel Up Records).

5.Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids: “Shaman” (Strut).

6.Asian Dub Foundation: “Access Denied” (X Ray Production).

7.Various Artists: “Door To The Cosmos” (On The Corner).

8.Matthieu Saglio: “El Camino De Los Vientos” (ACT Music).

9.Afel Bocoum: “Linde” (World Circuit).

10. Ustad Saami: “Pakistan Is For The Peaceful” (Glitterbeat).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1. Ceferina Banquez: “No me dejen sola”. From “No Me Dejen Sola!” (OM Producciones).

2. Johnny Clarke: “Declaration of Rights”. From “Don Letts presents Dread meets Punk Rockers Uptown Vol. 2” (Universal 2015).

3. Orquesta Failde: “Havana”. From “Failde Con Tumbao” (Orquesta Failde).

4. Urban Village: “Ubaba (radio edit)”. From the EP “Ubaba” (No Format!).

5. Kuljit Bhamra feat. Rohan Roy: “Raga Mishra Nat Bhairav”. From “Essence of RagaTala” (ARC).
DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu