Playlist 05.09.2023

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 05.09.2023

On this week’s programme:

Deena Abdelwahed is a Tunisian DJ and producer.

Dudu Tassa is an Israeli musician of Iraqi ancestry, collaborating with Radiohead’s Jonny Greenwood.

Sound artist and musician, Jason Singh, explores his connection to the Manganiyar communities of Rajasthan.

The late Afrobeat legend, Tony Allen, recorded with the Jazz Is Dead crew back in 2018, now on release.

75 Dollar Bill is the New York duo of guitarist Che Chen and drummer Rick Brown; they played the Workman’s Cellar last Saturday.

Idrissa Soumaoro, from Mali, sings and plays guitar and kamele n’goni on his third album.

Leon Keïta, Guinean guitarist, was in Mali for the formation of the both the Rail Band and Les Ambassadeurs in the 1970s.

Cindy Pooch is a resident of Lyon, with ancestry in Cameroon.

Luzmila Carpio is renowned Bolivian indigenous singer and cultural ambassador.

Novalima are long-running Afro-Peruvian dance act from Lima.

Drummer and vocalist Wilson das Neves backed most of Brazil’s MPB stars before his untimely death in 2017.

Hallvard Godal from Norway founded Monoswezi and collaborated with Englishman Richard Burgess in FatDog.

Yungchen Lhamo is a Tibetan spiritual singer-songwriter releasing her seventh album.

Alabaster DePlume, spiritualist jazz voyager, has a new album on the way.

Jawa are preserving the Sufi musical traditions of Syria, and Aleppo in particular.

Elina Duni, originally from Albania, is an ECM jazz singer and composer.

Check the latest Transglobal World Music Chart here


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Tuesday September 5th. The programme goes out every Tuesday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Deena Abdelwahed: “Violence for free”.

2.    Deena Abdelwahed: “Each day”.  Both from “Jbal Rrsas” (InFiné 2023).

3.    Dudu Tassa & Jonny Greenwood: “Leylet hub”. From “Jarak Qaribak” (World Circuit 2023).

4.    Jason Singh & the Banwasi Collective: “Gypsy”. From the forthcoming album “Travellers” (Hudson).

5.    Tony Allen & Adrian Younge: “Ebun”. From “Tony Allen/Adrian Younge” (Jazz Is Dead 2023).

6.    75 Dollar Bill: “Every last coffee or tea”. From “I Was Real” (tak:til/Glitterbeat 2019).

7.    Idrissa Soumaoro: “Diré taga”. From “Diré” (Mieruba 2023).

8.    Leon Keïta: “Diarabi mana”. From the forthcoming album “Leon Keïta” (Analog Africa).

9.    Cindy Pooch: “Secret precieux”.

10.  Cindy Pooch: “Enleve ton coeur”. Both from the forthcoming album “In Nomine Corpus” (InFiné).

11.  Luzmila Carpio: “Inti Watana - El Retorno del Sol”.

12.  Luzmila Carpio: “Sumaq Kawsay Mañarimuy - Pide un Buen Vivir”. Both from “Inti Watana - El Retorno del Sol” (ZZK Records 2023).

13.  Novalima: “La Danza”. From “La Danza Part1” (Six Degrees 2023).

14.  Wilson das Neves: “Se Vocē Não Me Levar”. From “Senzala E Favela” (FundiSom 2023).

15.  Hallvard Godal feat. Richard Burgess: “Moe & Mia”. From the forthcoming album “The Ground” (World Music Network).

16.  Yungchen Lhamo: “Sound Healing”. From “One Drop Of Kindness” (forthcoming on Real World).

17.  Alabaster DePlume feat. Donna Thompson: “Naked like water”. From the forthcoming album “Come With Fierce Grace” (International Anthem).

18.  Jawa: “Bahth An Alzzaman Aldaee”.

19.  Jawa: “Habbat Riaho Al-Ahiba”. Both from “Last Breaths From Aleppo” (Muziekpublique 2023).

20.  Elina Duni: “E Vogël”.

21.  Elina Duni: “Dawn”. Both from “A Time To Remember” (ECM 2023).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Recommendations below!


Check out my website:
Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood
Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.  Kayhan Kalhor & Toumani Diabaté: “The Sky Is The Same Colour Everywhere” (Real World).

2.  Alogte Oho & His Sounds Of Joy: “O Yinne!” (Philophon).

3.  Mokoomba: “Tusona: Tracings in the Sand” (Outhere).


4.  V.A: Playing for the Man at the Door: Field Recordings from the collection of Mack McCormick 1958-1971 (Smithsonian Folkways).


5.  Sanam: “Aykathani Malakon” (Mais Um).


6.  Yungchen Lhamo: “One Drop Of Kindness” (Real World).

7.  Dudu Tassa & Jonny Greenwood: “Jarak Qaribak” (World Circuit).


8.  V.A: “River of Revenge: Brazilian Country Music 1929-1961 Vol.1” (Death Is Not The End).

9.  Jawa: “Last Breaths from Aleppo” (Muziekpublique).

10.  V.A: “Coco Maria presents Club Coco - Ahora!” (Bongo Joe).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.   Son Palenque/Kaine Sound Band: “Es la idea”. From “Son Palenque - Itan Pa’loyo” (Palenque).

2.   Erkin Koray: “Kendim Ettim Kendim Buldum”. From “Mechul - singles & rarities” (Sublime Frequencies).

3.   Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids: “Afro Futurist Dreams”. From “Afro Futurist Dreams” (Strut).

4.   Chango Spasiuk feat. Jaques Morelenbaum: “Mi Pueblo Mi Casa”. From “Eiké! (Entrar en el alma)” (Chango Spasiuk).

5.   Nils Økland & Sigbjørn Apeland: “Rullestadjuvet”. From “Glimmer” (ECM).
DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu