Playlist 04.10.2022

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 04.10.2022

On last week’s programme:

Much travelled DJ/producer DJ Click joins Ukrainians in solidarity.

Minyeshu is an Ethiopian singer, resident in the Netherlands.

Raz and Afla are a duo from Tel Aviv and Ghana respectively, based in London.

Wesli is a Haitian musician based in Montreal exploring the various styles of his homeland.

Eliades Ochoa, veteran of the Buena Vista Social Club, has a new album of Cuban son.

Joyce Moreno’s lost 1977 recording with Mauricio Maestro gets a much belated release.

Kansas Smitty’s are a London jazz outfit led by Italian Giacomo Smith.

Simon Shaheen, oud-player, celebrates the father of Arabic song, produced by Bill Laswell in 1990.

Lebanese diva Fairuz’s late ’80s album gets a vinyl re-release.

French-Algerian singer Souad Massi issues a new collection of songs.

Senegalese kora player Ablaye Cissoko collaborates with French accordionist Cyrille Brotto.

Maya Youssef is a Syrian virtuoso on the qanun, relocated to London.

Belgian violinist and composer, Catherine Graindorge, enlisted Iggy Pop for some atmospheric spoken word.

The late and legendary Sun Ra’s “Arkestra” marches on under nonagenarian Marshall Allen.

Purbayan Chatterjee, sitar master, joins forces with Rakesh Chaurasia on bansuri flute.

Check the latest Transglobal World Music Chart here


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Tuesday October 4th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1. DJ Click & Masha Natanson: “24022022”.

2.DJ Click & Masha Natanson: “My Sister Ukraine”. Both from “Violins Not Bombs” (No Fridge 2022).

3.Minyeshu: “Ethio yo yo Pia”. From “Netsa” (ARC Music 2022).

4.Raz & Afla: “Mofanya”. From “The Cycle” (Mawimbi 2022).

5.Wesli: “Fè Yo Wè Kongo Banda”.

6.Wesli: “Makonay”. Both from “Tradisyon” (forthcoming on Cumbancha).

7.Eliades Ochoa: “Vamos a bailar un son”.

8.Eliades Ochoa: “Que Lio Compay Andres”. Both from “Vamos A Bailar Un Son” (World Circuit 2022).

9.Joyce with Mauricio Maestro: “Pega Leve”. From “Natureza” (Far Out 2022).

10.Kansas Smitty’s: “Sunday Davidson”. From the forthcoming album “We’re Not In Kansas Anymore” (Ever Records/!K7).

11.Simon Shaheen: “Sittel Habayeb”. From “The Music of Mohamed Abdel Wahab” (forthcoming on Zehra).

12.Fairuz: “You can forget”. From “Kifak Inta” (forthcoming on WeWantSounds).

13.Souad Massi: “Mirage”.

14.Souad Massi: “Hurt”. Both from “Sequana” (BackingTrack/Wrasse 2022).

15.Ablaye Cissoko & Cyrille Brotto: “Instant”. From “Instant” (Ma Case 2022).

16.Maya Youssef: “Lullaby: A Promise of a Rainbow”. From “Finding Home” (Seven Gates 2022).

17.Catherine Graindorge: “Iggy Pop”. From the EP with Iggy Pop “The Dictator” (Glitterbeat 2022).

18.Sun Ra Arkestra: “Chopin”. From the album “Living Sky” (Omni Sound 2022).

19.Purbayan Chatterjee & Rakesh Chaurasia: “Pahadi”. From “Saath Saath” (Believe/Purbayan Chatterjee 2022).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Recommendations below!


Check out my website:
Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood
Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.Vieux Farka Touré: “Les Racines” (World Circuit).

2.Angelique Kidjo & Ibrahim Maalouf: “Queen Of Sheba” (Mi’ster Productions).

3.Yanna Momina: “Afar Ways” (Glitterbeat Hidden Musics).

4.Al-Qasar: “Who Are We” (Glitterbeat).

5.Ernesto Djédjé: “Ernesto Djédjé: Roi du Ziglibithy” (Analog Africa).

6.Antonis Antoniou: “Throisma” (Ajabu!).

7.Minyeshu: “Netsa” (ARC Music).

8.Maya Youssef: “Finding Home” (Seven Gates).

9.Pedro Lima: “Recordar É Viver: Antologia Vol. 1” (Bongo Joe).

10.Wesli: “Tradisyon” (Cumbancha).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.Vieux Farka Touré & Khruangbin: “Mahine Me”. From “Ali” (Dead Oceans).

2.Jembaa Groove: “Bassa Bassa”. From the EP “Live at Studio Batterie” (Agogo).

3.Majid Bekkas: “Zagora Palms”. From “Joudour” (Igloo Records).

4.Dawda Jobarteh: “Do you know a place called Flekkarøy”. From “Do You Know A Place Called Flekkarøy” (Ajabu).

5.Slavo Rican Assembly: “Intro Elevation”. From “Intercosmic” (Riverboat/World Music Network).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu