Playlist 03.06.2019 DJ NigelWood

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 03.06.2019

On this week's programme:

Two R.I.P.s this week. Soundway Records said goodbye to their early inspiration - Oscar Sulley from Ghana; and former member of Franco’s TPOK and leader of Somo Somo, Mose “Fan Fan”, a longtime UK resident, also passed away.

Kongo dia Ntotile are UK jazz with Congolese rhythm - African music brought up in London.

Kanazoé Orchestra are led by Seydou Diabaté, aka Kanazoé, balafon supremo from Burkina Faso.

Natu Camara from Guinea includes members of Salif Keita’s band on her solo debut.

Grupo Pilon are second generation Cape Verdean emigrants, formed in Luxembourg in the late ‘80s.

Aziz Sahmaoui, Moroccan-born, was a member of Orchestre National de Barbès and Joe Zawinul’s band.

Youssou N’Dour is, of course, a figurehead and cultural icon of World music.

Massa Dembele, from Burkina Faso, is a singer and master of the kamele n’goni harp.

AKA Trio are renowned musicians from Italy, Senegal and Brazil - Antonio Forcione, Seckou Keita, Adriano Adewale.

Rupa & the April Fishes are from San Francisco, incorporating activism and indigenous roots.

Le Vent du Nord are the leading purveyors of contemporary Quebecois roots.

Gaiteiros de Lisboa are folk musicians with an experimental take on Portuguese tradition.

Mara Aranda releases her second album in her exploration of Judeo-Spanish musical history, the Turkish instalment.

The Charivari Trio are violin, accordion and bass from Holland.

Darbuka player and inventive sound-sculpturist Wassim Halal has roots in the Lebanon.

Park Jiha plays traditional Korean instruments in a non-traditional manner.

Khonyagaran-e Mehr Orchestra are an all-female orchestra from Iran, with two male lead singers.

“Joy! Guru” is by renowned Indian slide-guitarist Debashish Bhattacharya, backed by two Polish jazz musicians.


Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday June 6th. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Oscar Sulley & The Uhuru Dance Band: “Bukom Mashie”. From the compilation “Ghana Soundz: Afro-Beat, Funk and Fusion in 70’s Ghana” (Soundway 2002).

2.    Kongo dia Ntotile: “Mbongo”. From “360°” (Pussyfoot Records 2019).

3.    Kanazoé Orkestra: “Tama”. From “Tolonso” (Buda Musique 2019).

4.    Natu Camara: “Drapeau”. From “Dimedi” (Natuwenta Productions 2019).

5.    Grupo Pilon: “Rabés”. From “Leite Quente Funaná de Cabo Verde” (forthcoming on Ostinato).

6.    Aziz Sahmaoui & University of Gnawa: “Soudani Ya Yémma”. From “Poetic Trance” (Pias 2019).

7.    Youssou N’Dour: “Makumba”. From “History” (forthcoming on Naive/Believe).

8.    Massa Dembele: “Alumaye”. From “Alumaye” (Izniz 2019).

9.    Mose ‘Fan Fan’: “Sikulu”. From the compilation “Unwired: Africa” (World Music Network 2000).

10.  AKA Trio: “Baracoa”. From “Joy” (Bendigedig 2019).

11.  Rupa & The April Fishes: “Where You From”. From “Growing Upward” (Electric Gumbo Radio Music 2019).

12.  Le Vent du Nord: “Le Soir Arrive”. From “Territoires” (Borealis 2019).

13.  Gaiteiros de Lisboa: “Roncos do Diabo”. From “Bestiário” (Uguru 2019).

14.  Mara Aranda: “Las bodas de la pulga y el Piojo”. From “Diáspora: Sefarad en el corazon de Turquia” (Mara Aranda 2019).

15.  Charivari Trio: “Los Hijos de la Noche ll”. From “Melodias del Silencio” (Xango 2018).

16.  Wassim Halal: “Le Cri du Cyclope”. From “Le Cri du Cyclope” (Buda Musique 2018).

17.  Park Jiha: “Thunder Shower”. From “Philos” (forthcoming on tak:til / Glitterbeat).

18.  Khonyagaran Mehr Orchestra: “Under Siege”. From “Under Siege” (Pardis Records 2019).

19.  Debashish Bhattacharya, Wojtek Traczyk, Hubert Zemler: “Midnight Raga”. From “Joy! Guru” (Unzipped Fly 2019).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

*Follow me on Twitter: @djnigelw
*Facebook page - DJ Nigel Wood

*Recommendations below!


Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1. Rupa & The April Fishes: “Growing Upward” (Electric Gumbo Radio Music).


2.  Rhiannon Giddens with Francesco Turrisi: “There Is No Other” (Nonesuch).


3. Saulo Duarte: “Avante Delírio” (Sterns).


4. Aziz Sahmaoui & University of Gnawa: “Poetic Trance” (Pias).


5. Refugees for Refugees: “Amina” (Muziekpublique).


6. Various Artists: “Nigeria 70 - No Wahala: Highlife, AfroFunk & Juju 1973-1987” (Strut).


7. Minyo Crusaders: “Echoes of Japan” (Mais Um Discos).


8. Hama Sankaré: “Niafunke” (Clermont).     


9. BCUC: “The Healing” (Buda).


10. AKA Trio: “Joy” (Bendigedig).

Sound Tracks of the Week:

1.  Wassim Halal: “Incantation”. From “Le Cri du Cyclope” (Buda Musique).

2.  Dizzy Mandjeku & Alé Kumá: “Nasinalapi ndayi”. From “De Palenque a Matonge” (Zephyrus).


3.  Angelique Kidjo: “Quimbara”. From “Celia” (Decca France).

4.  75 Dollar Bill: “Every Last Coffee Or Tea”. From “I Was Real” (tak:til / Glitterbeat).

5.  Blick Bassy: “Lipém”. From “1958” (No Format!).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu