Playlist 01.06.2020

World Music DJ
Go to content

Playlist 01.06.2020

On this week's programme:

Mory Kanté, Guinean singer, multi-instrumentalist and first African international million-seller, has died at the age of 70.

Populous is Italian instrumentalist/producer Andrea Mangia, and Captain Planet is US DJ/producer Charlie Wilder.

Meridian Brothers are the Bogota outfit led by Eblis Álvarez.

Prince Fatty is UK reggae producer Mike Pelanconi.

Waaju is a fine assembly of London’s global jazz forces.

Dzambo Agusevi is a Macedonian brass band and last month’s chart-toppers (

TootArd are brothers from the Golan Heights with a retro electro-pop sound.

Shiran is an Israeli singer exploring her Yemeni heritage.

Bab L’Bluz, French North African band, are the latest signing to Real World.

Amaria Hamadalher, from Niger, is the latest artist in Sahel Sounds’ WhatsApp series.

Haitian 7-piece Chouk Bwa join forces with Brussels duo, the Ångströmers.

Daniel Waro is passionate preserver and exponent of his La Réunion culture.

Transglobal Underground are back with many of their key contributors including Natacha Atlas.

9Bach are alt-folk award winners, rooted in Wales and Welshness.

Daniel Melingo, born again as a tango maestro, explores darkness and magic.

Here is the playlist for "Ear to the globe" broadcast on Monday June 1st. The programme goes out every Monday at 10pm to midnight on 103.2FM and is available live at

1.    Mory Kanté: “Yé Ké Yé Ké”. From “Akwaba Beach” (Barclay 1987).

2.    Rail Band feat. Mory Kanté: “Sinsimba”. From “Belle Epoque - Rail Band 3: Dioba” (Syllart / Sterns 2009).

3.    Mory Kanté: “Mama”. From “Sabou” (Riverboat / World Music Network 2004).

4.    Mory Kanté: “Malibala”. From “La Guinéenne” (Discograph 2012).

5.    Populous feat. Emmanuelle: “Flores No Mar”. From “W” (Wonderwheel 2020).

6.    Captain Planet feat. Shungudzo: “Big Man”. From forthcoming album “No Visa” (Bastard Jazz).

7.    Meridian Brothers: “Puya del Empresario” (Single on Bongo Joe).

8.    Prince Fatty feat. Shniece McMenamin & Horseman: “Take me as I am”. From the EP “Disco Deception” (Evergreen 2020).

9.    Waaju feat. Will Heard: “Time’s got a hold”. Single from forthcoming album “Grown” (Olindo).

10.  J-Star & Dzambo Agusevi: “Brasses for the Masses”. Single remix (Asphalt Tango 2020).

11.  TootArd: “Moonlight”. From “Migrant Birds” (Glitterbeat 2020).

12.  Shiran: “Ya Ahl San’ah”. From “Glsah Sanaanea with Shiran” (Batov Records 2020).

13.  Bab L’Bluz: “Ila Mata”. From forthcoming album “Nayda!” (Real World).

14.  Amaria Hamadalher: “Tarhanine”. From the EP “Saharan WhatsApp No. 5” (Sahel Sounds 2020).

15.  Josh White: “I don’t intend to die in Egypt Land”. From “The Rough Guide to Spiritual Blues” (World Music Network 2020).  

16.  Chouk Bwa & The Ångströmers: “Fidelite”.  From “Vodou Alé” (Bongo Joe 2020).

17.  Daniel Waro: “Tinn Tout”. From “Tinn Tout” (Buda Musique 2020).

18. Transglobal Underground: “Chant Sans Adresse”. From “Walls Have Ears” (Mule Satellite 2020).

19.  9Bach: “Cyfaddefa (live)”. From the forthcoming album “Ar y 9” (Real World).

20.  Melingo: “Obertura el Oraculo”.

21.  Melingo feat. Miguel Zavaleta: “Sueno del Exodo”. Both from “Oasis” (Buda Musique 2020).

Thanks for listening.

*Here is a listen-back link to listen back to the programme.

Recommendations are below.

Check out my website:

Facebook: DJ Nigel Wood

Twitter: @djnigelw

Current Album Recommendations (in no particular order):

1.   Groupe RTD: “The Dancing Devils of Djibouti” (Ostinato).


2.  Santrofi: “Alewa” (Out Here).


3.  Transglobal Underground: “Walls Have Ears” (Mule Satellite).


4.  Edikanfo: “The Pace Setters” (Glitterbeat).


5.  Melingo: “Oasis” (Buda Musique).


6.  Džambo Aguševi Orchestra: “Brasses for the Masses” (Asphalt Tango).


7.  Jola: “Hidden Gnawa Music in Brussels” (Muziekpublique).


8.  Tamikrest: “Tamotait” (Glitterbeat).


9.  Andrew Cronshaw: “Zithers” (Cloud Valley).

10. Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela: “Rejoice” (World Circuit).

Sound Tracks of the Week:
1.   Prince Fatty with Shniece Mcmenamin & Horseman: “Take me as I am”. From EP “Disco Deception” (Evergreen).

2.   Mory Kanté: “Malibala”. From “La Guinéenne” (Discograph).

3.   Dinastía Torres: “La Guaneña”. From “Los Duendes de la Marimba” (Palenque Records).

4.   Gaudi & Prince Fatty: “Theremin Dub Mafia”. From “A Hundred Years Of Theremin (The Dub Chapter)” (Dubmission 2020).

5.   Transglobal Underground: “Ruma Jhuma”. From “Walls Have Ears” (Mule Satellite).

DJ Nigel Wood World Music Specialist
Back to content | Back to main menu